Wizards District Gaming is far from Awkward.

Wayne Cole
4 min readApr 12, 2023

After the Washington Wizards v Houston Rockets game concluded, I went to say what’s up to my guys, Tari Eason, Josh Christopher, and Ty Ty Washington.

As most people were leaving Capital One Arena to go home, I went to their sister building. I caught my breath for another game about to embark on a new journey into my ever-growing sports journalism career.

The Wizards District Gaming has officially launched. Their info can be found here, and it’s step 1 of the giveaway.

  1. All contestants, must have a Twitter and follow @ wizardsDG, here is the “OFFICIAL PAGE BELOW”

All games are free to the public. You have to RSVP so the team has a head count. This is the HOTTEST TICKET IN DC, and it’s free!

Gaming is the future; if you love it or hate it, that’s what the future is, GAMING.

I can remember always hearing parents say one famous line, “I cannot get my kid off the video games”; hey, parents, your child could be a professional video gamer; stop what you’re doing and buy the PS5; you may have a pro gamer on your hands.

Justin Awkward Chillin pregame before his match photo: Wayne Cole

Meet Justin Howell aka @ JustAkward

SMALL FORWARD #29, R2, P30

Kids dream about making a 2k My player and living out their dreams virtually, but JUSTIN lives it virtually. He is a professional gamer.

You might be asking yourself what brought me to cover professional gaming?

I met Justin at Capital City Go-Go games and community events. After getting to know him more, he extended an invitation to come to cover his games. I accepted. I told him once the Wizards/Go-Go season was over, I would come to his game.

Justin, pro name Justakward is far from awkward. He’s chill and down to earth. I’ll do a more in-depth piece on him and the other gamers, but I wanted this to serve as an introduction to him and the gaming team.

I’m sure there are fans of the Washington Mystics, Wizards, and Capital City Go-Go who love video games. You can get some great seats for free and meet Justin. That’s a win.

Step 2. Follow @ JustAkward on twitter

GAMEDAY EXPERIENCE

Here are a couple clips to give you an idea.

Although it is a virtual game, basic basketball principles still apply. Watch above. During pregame intros, the team said playing virtually it’s essential to be on the same page.

I’ve sat courtside at NBA games and felt the passion and virtual basketball are just as intense. I don’t know if it was because, of fact, the Philadelphia team was in town, but it got intense.

The PHILLY team were heavy trash talkers, and the Wizards team ignored them and got intense within themselves. If you have played online games, you know how spicy things can get.

Wizards District Gaming has a quiet competitiveness about them. I was surprised by how immersive everything felt. It was times I forgot it was virtual basketball.

I love passion. The families of the players and fans were heartfelt. You can get lost in the experience, in a good way.

There is a live DJ, Play by play, bar, and lounge; it felt like I was at a Wizards game but more intimate. It’s no refs, so guys can taunt, and trash talk gets up out there seats, unlike in the NBA.

I enjoyed my time and will be back for sure.

I’m grateful Justin extended the invite, I was pleased as a reporter and so were the fans. I will be back for sure.

GIVEAWAY (L) T-Shirt

Rules.

  1. Follow Official team page on Twitter
  2. Follow @ JustAkward & @ waynec0le (twitter)
  3. Tweet me with proof of 1 &2 with a short message of a video game that brings you JOY! (Super Smash Bros is mine)

GOOD LUCK. WINNER TBA.

For all Wizards DG, news, content and more follow me on twitter @ waynec0le

--

--

Wayne Cole

Covering the Washington Wizards / Mystics #dcaboveall • #togetherdc| Sports Reporter | #nabj | Counselor | Podcaster #MentalHealthAwareness