Living in Community: Why Bother?

Wayne Gibbins
3 min readOct 26, 2019

I listened to a couple of podcasts this morning on intentional community. It’s bothered me a bit recently that people can sometimes confuse off-grid with some kind of hiding from the CIA and abandoning civilisation kind of concept. I blame my own communication style in this case as I can at times discuss both a philosophical vision for a future of humanity and a shorter term action plan on actually creating a community to live in together next year. The former and latter are not mutually exclusive of course but the latter is an access gateway to the former which alone would be too big a task to take on for any human.

So what did I listen to. Sky Blue and Rob Avis, both interviewed on different occasions by the charming Kamea Chavne of the Green Dreamer Podcast.

Sky is executive director of the Foundation for Intentional Communities

I’m not about to summarise their discussions as I’d just recommend heading over and listening to them c30–40 min podcasts and all are very articulate, both interviewer and interviewee. Instead I’m just going to try to create a kind of map.

Problems, Goals and Approaches

So starting with Problems, I noticed that the key thing really is fragility. We are living in a Fragile system. This poses a Risk. And the risk is increasing.

--

--

Wayne Gibbins

Founder - Bliss Farms; Founder - AgTech Advisors; MSc AgTech & Innovation; Regenerative Agriculture; FRSA