How to build, launch, and fund a tech startup: an operational framework

Will Little
Startup Rocket
Published in
2 min readJul 6, 2015

Ok sure, we live in the world of Lean where founders can sometimes iterate a poorly built product all the way to Product-Market Fit. But, after building tons of software products over the past 10+ years and watching countless other entrepreneurs optimize their game, I can confidently say that the process is always an inefficient mess.

While of course you should avoid analysis paralysis, if you race forward haphazardly you will build something more minimum than viable.

So, let’s chat.

It’s important to note that the order below matters. I’ve learned the hard way, multiple (multiple) times, how doing things significantly out of this suggested order leads to miscommunication, wasted time, and unnecessary chaos. That being said, many steps can be worked on in parallel, just don’t get too far ahead and leave other team members behind.

I’ll be rolling these steps out as articles over time to flush out the topics in more depth.

Subscribe to my newsletter and I’ll keep you posted when I publish new content.

Also, my partners and I at Prota Ventures have recently built a SaaS product to guide founders through this framework. Learn more and request an invite to our private beta here.

Continue Reading »

--

--