Paying for My Data Science Degree with Sports Betting

William Sovine
2 min readFeb 10, 2024

--

Photo by Dylan LaPierre on Unsplash

A little over two years ago, I started on the journey towards obtaining my Master’s degree in Data Science. Through my early career I picked up skills in both the realm of data and the realm of computer science because they interested me and why not make a career out of what interests me?

Perhaps as importantly as my passions, the college I had always dreamed of attending offered such a degree, Notre Dame. Queue the Rudy chant.

Rudy! Rudy! Rudy!

Would I be accepted? How would I pay for it?

These were all questions for future me and the future is now: I got in, I graduate in May 2024, and sports betting is going to recoup the costs (hopefully).

The Mission

Make enough money from sports betting to pay the total cost of my Master’s in Data Science from the University of Notre Dame.

Profit Goal: $58,000

This is the latest figure from Notre Dame’s website for total cost of the MS in Data Science. It may have been a bit cheaper when I enrolled, but let’s use the most up to date figures for future readers.

Starting Point: $0

I will keep track of how much money I put in as a minus and profit from succesful wagers as a plus. Meaning we could get into the negative, everybody buckle up.

Updates

I will post updates as I have things to share. It will take time to bring in data and develop the models to use for wagering on each different sport. However, I will create posts as I find interesting insights along the way. Would love to create at least 1 profitable model for every major sport, so we can keep the action going year round.

My Picks

I’ll also post what my models suggest for anyone that wants to follow along. However, the actual bets that I place towards the goal will be determined by what odds are available at the time that I place my wagers.

I’ll post all of those suggestions here for anyone that wants to join in on the fun:

https://st-cajetan.ghost.io/

Goal Progress — February 10, 2024

$0 / $58,000 (0%)

--

--