Inspectah Deck: Master of the opening verse

Wayne M.
3 min readJul 18, 2023

--

After recently revisiting the slept on but dope 4th solo album from Wu-Tang Clan member Inspectah Deck, 2009’s “Manifesto,” as well as listening to Raekwon’s “Only Built 4 Cuban Linx, Pt.2” (specifically House of Flying Daggers), those were the motivations for this post. Deck not only remains one of the most underrated MCs to ever bless a mic, but he has a STRONG gift when it comes to delivering an opening verse, and more often than not his verse is the most memorable even on a song that’s filled with tight verses from each artist. He has delivered many strong opening verses in his day, but the following five verses are his best.

And for the sake of this post, please listen to the songs in question if you can, lol. I wasn’t able to find any links with just his verses spotlighted, respectively.

5. Assassination Day

“I move through the Third World, my third eye’s the guiding light

Rae, RZA, and Masta Killa all deliver very good verses, but Deck’s verse sets the tone completely.

4. Kill Too Hard

“Really?These dudes don’t want it wit’ Deck/No, my set glow/Hate it or you love it, but you gonna respect it though/You ain’t got to know my name/Check the blood, sweat, and tears, for years niggas know I bang!”

Man, of these 5 verses, this may be the lesser known one of them all. Deck comes correct opening this joint, Masta Ace didn’t disappoint as usual (“All you ringtone rap dudes, please stay home”), and U-God’s verse was tight too. Truly awesome.

3. House Of Flying Daggers

“I pop off like a mobster boss/Angel hair wit’ the lobster sauce, summer time can’t top the scorch…”

I remember how ILL I thought this was when I took the plastic off my “OB4CL2” CD and put it in the CD player of my ride. And like I said recently, after Deck’s classic opening, the momentum continues with Raekwon and Ghostface, then Method Man closes it in supreme Wu-Tang fashion. Hot damn!

2. Triumph

“I bomb atomically/Socrates philosophies and hypothesis can’t define how I be droppin’ these

Those lines are two of Deck’s most memorable lines ever. Simply classic and I guarantee you if you ask someone to quote a Deck verse, this would be the first one.

And now for Deck’s best opening verse……..

1. Gullotine (Swordz)

You know, I’ll end up quoting Deck’s entire verse, but instead of doing that, I’m just going to mention my favorite 2 lines in Deck’s verse:

“I score, from the inner slums abroad/And my thoughts are razor sharp, I slice the mic from the cord!

Seriously, Deck’s verse is SO tight that in its entirety it’s highly quotable. He absolutely kills this joint, and I’m sure Rae, Ghost and GZA to this day would probably say he got them all here, all in the name of friendly, Wu competition.

There you have it, Inspectah Deck’s 5 best opening verses ever. Any honorable mentions, let me know your choices.

Original post-July 9, 2013

--

--