The Mango is Much Sweeter When You Wait

Grassfed
3 min readAug 9, 2018

Mangoes have been in full force the last few months here in Belize, they are only here for a little while so there is quite a fancy for these beautiful tree-dwelling Golden Jewels. There is nothing like a sweet mango as it begins to soften up and the green starchy sourness of a hard mango turns to sugar, and although there are dozens of varieties like the Slippers Mango, Black Mango, Mango that has no pulp and you can drink right out of the skin, some look different but they all taste so unbelievably good. There are only a few days in between a hard green mango and a soft yellow mango, with just a little patience you can have one of the healthiest sweets that Belize has to offer. Interesting enough, that’s something I’ve recognized as non-existent in my current Self.

The lifestyle in Belize is so much slower than any of you city-slicker modern folk who want everything NOW NOW NOW could imagine, if you hear “right now” that mean’s I’m coming…but not right now. When I arrived in the Fall of 2016 I only expected to be here in for a week, so I was in ultra-guest mode. I like to treat my time other places just like I am a guest in someone’s home (This is Home of The Belizeans after-all, so I felt an obligation to go above and beyond to be mindful and grateful) so upon my first trip to Cayo I was only expecting to stay 3 nights in the jungle and head back to my antique business in Texas, I developed a micro-patience that was respectful and easy enough to enjoy on a vacation. I was never really sure that I could slow down as much as the day-to-day…

--

--

Grassfed

Bringing the farmer, chef, herbalist, trainer, business owner, and consumer to the same table to develop a network of holistic-minded idividuals.