Habits! Systems! Rituals! Oh my!

weberswords
6 min readJan 7, 2018

In my last post, I talked about my process for dealing with a brain that was just too full of stuff. As a beginning teacher, I had too many things to do and not enough time to do it in. I’ve since been through 9 years of teaching and changed fields and careers from education into tech. These skills still, like the Dude, abide.

Photo by David Mao on Unsplash

Why routines help

Why is this even relevant or important, Webs? I’m not a five year old. I don’t need a bedtime or playdates. To that I say, don’t sell the day to day of a five year old short (I mean naptime, amirite?).

Decision Fatigue

Decision fatigue is well documented. From tech CEOs with closets full of the same outfits to eating the same breakfast every day, strategies for avoiding decision fatigue and reasons why powerful people do it are everywhere. While Robert Frost might choose the road less traveled, my goal is to maximize my mental resources, so I’m definitely opting for the well-worn path in this case.

Spidey Sense

Have you ever showered and you lather up your loofah first instead of washing your hair? Then, when you do go to wash your hair, you realize you picked up the conditioner instead. When a well-worn routine goes awry, I can sense something went wrong. This is beneficial because if I leave the house and I…

--

--

weberswords

Software developer & consultant. Former classroom teacher & digital learning coach. Apple Distinguished Educator.