My life in Sydney as a Chinese

Jacky Lee
2 min readSep 5, 2023

--

I am a Chinese person living in Sydney with my wife and son. I have a social media company that creates videos for local businesses, promoting their products and services to the Australian Chinese community or to mainland China.

Australia is a slower-paced country. As a Chinese person, I’ve noticed that many things that can be easily accomplished in China are much harder to push forward here.

During my first 3 years in Sydney, I found some inconvenient things like slow internet, shops closing at 7 pm, etc.

To be honest, I used to joke about this a lot. But after 3 years, I changed my opinion. I found that you can easily live life at your own pace, and it’s for everyone. It means I also don’t need to answer calls from my clients after 6 pm and have more time for my kids.

And also, 99% of Australian people are friendly. They don’t care much about politics or your social status. They will ask or answer your questions straightforwardly, and they are very easy to talk to.

If you want to build a 100-people company, maybe China or the US is your choice. But if you want to live your life, have a stable job with reasonable pay, have time to spend with your family, and also develop a hobby, I think Australia is the best country on Earth.

The only problem probably is that Sydney is getting expensive.

--

--