Back on the ground.

Returning to Earth — Landing After A Sabbatical

Wendy Castleman
2 min readSep 1, 2017

--

A few days ago, there was a total eclipse that was viewable from across the United States of America. Everyone was looking up to the sky (usually with goggles). At the same time, I was here in my home-office in California, returning from my 6-month sabbatical.

As I’d mentioned in my post Leaning Out, six months ago I was feeling disconnected from my life and completely absorbed by my work. I was tired a lot, and uninspired. I gave myself 6 months before I was allowed to think about working again. It took a while to turn off, but it only took me moments to turn back on again.

Starting on the first day of August (the beginning of my 6th month), I started thinking about who I am and what I love to do. I did some research. I spoke with people… and I had an epiphany that led me to creating my next thing: a UX research coaching company. It aligned all of my values, skills and passions into one thing. POW. The moment it hit me, I knew this was what I wanted to be doing.

Let’s be clear about this. I was able to find that moment within the first WEEK of looking. I couldn’t do that before.

Here was my timeline:

A year ago, I knew that I needed a change. I spent months and looked at the options I saw around me (including consulting) and rejected them because they didn’t feel right for me. I realized that the next thing for me was actually to take a step back and just BE for a while. That kicked off my journey for taking this sabbatical.

Six months ago, I left Intuit, the company that had been my home for 14 years, and headed off on my break.

One month ago (exactly), I turned my attention to what might be next. Within a week, I had it.

I couldn’t have gotten here without the sabbatical. I tried.

Today, my energy is THROUGH THE ROOF. I am so excited about my new business and the direction that I’ve chosen. I am meeting my goals and am able to focus and BUILD in a creative, efficient manner. I’m learning so much and I am completely engaged.

And… I’ve still got balance with my home life.

Win-Win.

Now that I’m here, what about you? I’ve heard from many of you that you’d like to take a sabbatical too. Do you need help with planning and executing that? If so, I can help.

--

--

Wendy Castleman

MasterCatalyst, Coach, Facilitator, Wife, Mother, Dreamer