Create a Tableau Story: Baseball Players

Weng Seng
2 min readSep 5, 2019

In this post I will tell a story and trends in a baseball data set by using data visualization tool Tableau.

However, medium not allow us to embeds Tableau codes so I unable to embed my Tableau Story here. So I will post some screenshots of my Tableau story overview here.

For the project details can be found in my github.
For the Tableau Story can be view here.

Overview:

Handedness

I starting with bar plot for Handedness for my first data visualization. I found out that most of the players are right handed.

Height vs Weight

Second I plots players weight and height by using scatter plot. It shows most of the players weight are between 150 to 230 pounds; height are between 66 to 80 inches.

Home Run vs Battling Average

There is high density player in battling average range from 0.17 to 0.28 and 0 to 100 for home run.

I create a dashboard by combined previous three different plots.
To summaries, most of the players are right handed, weight are between 150 to 230 pounds, height are between 66 to 80 inches. The battling average range from 0.17 to 0.28.

So, this is my brief exploration of baseball players with Tableau.

--

--