P2: 3D MODEL PROTOTYPE — HANDHELD IMMERSION BLENDER

Sabrina Weschler
7 min readJan 25, 2016

--

Design

Concept

For my prototyping class, we were given the task to create a 3D low fidelity physical prototype that followed the design guidelines of the company OXO. I first researched the OXO and found their key design concepts included a non-slip surface, comfortable-handles, simplicity, thoughtfulness, durable constructions, soft lines, and elegant curves. They also design their products to make life easier, family-oriented and user-friendly to all demographics, including left and right-handed people. They also design products particularly for people with arthritis. With this in mind, I chose to design a handheld immersion blender.

Initial User Research

One of my family friends uses an immersion blender on a daily basis so I started by asking her a few questions. I had never used one before so I wanted to learn what key features were important to her and what she did and did not like about her current immersion blender. She has her own business where she makes organic soaps and lotions. She also spends a lot of time in the kitchen cooking for her big family. She says she has two immersion blenders, one for her business and one for the kitchen. She says using the immersion blender for the business tends to be a little hard because you have to leave it on the lowest speed possible. Otherwise, it will generate too many air bubbles.

However, she uses it mostly for cooking soup for the family. She wishes it were a little lighter and wireless because the wire keeps getting in the way of cooking. She also said,

“I see it could be even more functional if the blender came with multiple attachments.”

Initial Sketches

After gathering information from my family friend, I started by sketching out my ideas onto paper. I first thought about how to make different parts detachable so as to make them easier to clean. I then added an attachable spoon feature to allow the user to taste the smoothie or soup being mixed. I then included several different-sized blade attachments, one each for smoothies, soups, making soaps, and other different possible use. I thought about how to make the blender wireless, how it would be charged and how it could be made to be more comfortable for both left and right-handed people and people who suffer from arthritis.

Initial Sketches

Prototype

Model Prototype Version 1

For my version 1 model prototype, I focused on where the buttons and different features would go and the size of the immersion blender. I created a large screen to display the current viscosity, speed and time remaining before reaching the desired viscosity. I created four different speed buttons that could be reached easily by both left and right handed people. Each button represented two speeds, the top button was speed 1–2, then 3–4, 5–6, and 7–8. You would press the button twice to get to the speed 2, 4, 6, and 8. Speed 1 was slowest and speed 8 was fastest. I chose to do this so the user could switch from speed 1 to 8 quickly if necessary. I also created an option for consistency at the top of the blender. The blender would automatically stop once the product being mixed attained that consistency.

Model Prototype Version 1

Model Prototype Version 1 User Testing

I user-tested my version 1 model prototype with a few different potential end users. In the process, I discovered many possible improvements I could make to my next prototype version.

Model Prototype Version 1 User Testing
Model Prototype Version 1 User Testing Feedback

I found out that the screen was placed in a spot away from the users view. It should be moved to face towards the user when they are mixing. From the video above, the participant mentioned how users may press the wrong buttons easily with the way it was placed. Another user also mentioned the buttons could interfere with the grip of the blender and lose control easily. The buttons also were not intuitive enough to understand. The blender was also too thin and hard for a comfortable grip.

Model Prototype Version 2

I took all the notes I gathered from my user-testing for my version 1 model prototype and incorporated the improvements into my version 2 model prototype. I put rocks in the motor to mimic a realistic weight for the immersion blender. I also used foam on the grip area to mold more easily to each user’s hand. This allows the device to be user friendly for both right and left-handed people, as well as those suffering from arthritis. I placed the speed wheel and on/off button so they could be easily reached with the user’s thumb, no matter which hand was being used.

I changed the speed control to a wheel instead of several different buttons to make it more intuitive. This way it also does not affect the grip of the user. I kept the consistency dial at the top of the blender because it worked well in my version 1 prototype. I placed the interface screen on the top right below the consistency dial that went all the way around. I made it a thin screen because from the version 1 user test, the participants only really looked at the interface screen to check what speed they were on. This is because they could already read the consistency set on the dial so it was not necessary to repeat that information on the interface. Version 2 only has a thin interface that displays The current speed. It changes dynamically as you twist the speed wheel.

I also made three different sized blades so the user could choose a different size for each container. This also allows someone like my family friend who uses a immersion blender for both cooking and her soap-making business to only have to have one immersion blender while using different blades for her kitchen and business needs.

Model Prototype Version 2

Model Prototype — Immersion Blender 1 Minute Video Demo

Model Prototype Immersion Blender 1 Minute Video Demo

Analysis

What Worked Well

When I user-tested my version 2 model prototype, the speed wheel worked significantly better than the buttons on version 1. The grip was also a big improvement. I gave the participant different tasks to complete, such as making a smoothie and a soup (as demoed in the video above) and the participant was able to choose the correct blade for each task.

I presented my model prototype in front of the class. People liked how I incorporated the rocks into my design to mimic the realistic weight of an immersion blender. They also liked how I was able to show the improvements made from version 1 to version 2.

Future Improvements

Some possible improvements for any future design iterations might include:

  • To be able to spin the consistency dial easier with your thumb.
  • To make it slightly bigger for a more comfortable grip.
  • To make the blade detachable from the blade holder to be able to clean IT easier.
  • To make the on/off button more intuitive. (During user testing of version 2, participants weren’t sure where the on/off buttons were. Some pressed the gold button at the top when it was supposed to be on the side above the speed wheel.)
  • To make the numbers on the interface more intuitive. (Some participants for the user test did not understand that the numbers correlated with the speed.)
  • To think about where the motor should go.

--

--