Should Joe Burrow Leave Cincinnati?

Wes Putnam
2 min readFeb 15, 2022

He won’t last

Photo by Andy Lyons/Getty Images

Cringe I know. He’s so good, so much fun to watch. But he would be an absolute fool to resign with Cincinnati once his rookie contract is up. I know, I know he’s the hometown kid. Such a good story.

Here is an alarming stat: Andrew Luck was sacked 73 times through his first 30 games. Joe Burrow: 102. What else is alarming?

He tore the ACL and MCL in his left knee his rookie season. And basically, nothing changed. Yes, there were injuries to the offensive line this year. That’s the NFL though. Deal with it.

This year was magical. I had more fun than I’ve ever had watching sports.

I’m telling you though, reality is going to set in. He has two years left on his rookie contract and another year of this garbage and his career will be cut short.

Bengals fans are throwing shade at Carson Palmer but they forget how good he was. He won’t be in the HOF but he should have been. He came out last week and said that Burrow needs to think long-term about his future with this organization and he’s 100% right.

Case in point: Matt Stafford. His first 13 years in the NFL were with an awful organization. He gets traded to a top-flight team and wins a Super Bowl. A couple more years like this and he’ll be in the HOF.

Make no mistake, I want him to stay. I love the guy. But I don’t want to see a HOF career cut short because he plays for an organization that is content to simply roll him out there and let him compensate for crappy personnel moves.

--

--

Wes Putnam

2x Top Writer, Sports, NFL. Most things sound good in my head which is a problem but makes life interesting. I love Jesus, family, books, sports and hate pain.