Here’s Why We Aren’t Taking Endorphin Supplements

Should you take Emergen-C for your brain chemistry?

Sam Westreich, PhD
5 min readMar 3, 2021

--

Look at her! She’s so happy! Is she supplementing her body’s natural brain chemistry with OUTSIDE CHEMICALS? (She likely is, but probably not in the same way that you add a multivitamin to your diet.) Photo by Andy Falconer on Unsplash

Back in undergrad, when I noticed that my typical daily diet lacked the presence of anything green, I started considering taking a daily multivitamin.

It seemed like an easy way for me to get my needed doses, especially water-soluble vitamins like vitamin C, which our bodies can’t store and need to replenish regularly. Additionally, I feared that a lack of vitamins was interfering with my brain’s ability to function. Was I bad at studying because I didn’t have enough vitamins?

(In the end, I decided that it would simply be easier to occasionally buy a vegetable or some fruit.)

These days, there’s no end of supplements marketed to us. Sometimes, we might even get too much of one — which can have some negative effects.

But what about vitamins for our brain? Should we be taking certain supplements to help us feel happier or think better?

--

--

Sam Westreich, PhD

PhD in genetics, bioinformatician, scientist at a Silicon Valley startup. Microbiome is the secret of biology that we’ve overlooked.