Volunteer’s Week: Finding Your Feet

we the curious
WeTheCurious
Published in
4 min readJun 5, 2019

Nick Bignall, Live Science Team member and seasoned volunteer

Volunteering can open up many doors and build on your strengths, so much so that our newest member of the Live Science Team, Nick, took the leap to land his dream job at We The Curious. In celebration of Volunteer’s Week, Nick shares his story with us. Get your tissues ready…

Hi there, I’m Nick!

If you’d tapped me on the shoulder as I stood in Millennium Square, in awe of that silver ball, and said “Nick, one day you’ll be operating that”, I’d have looked at you funny. But now that I present shows about space, to say I’m over the moon is an understatement.

Hi there 👋 I’m Nick Bignall and I’m volunteer-turned-Live Science here at We The Curious. I’d frequently pass by the science centre as I meandered around Bristol city centre. I’d often turn to my girlfriend and say “hey, we should go there one day!” That date became a reality, and it was then that I caught the curious bug.

It was a Valentine’s Day After Hours event about love that we went to. There was music playing and everyone seemed so friendly and welcoming. There was a sense of being in the right place, so we knew we’d have to come again. Funnily enough, around the time of our second visit, I was looking for a job or at least something to fill my time. It only made sense then to ask at We The Curious. And so my journey began.

I volunteered firstly with the Curious Cube team, standing out in public places on sunny days, encouraging passers-by to ask questions about life, the universe, or anything else that crossed their minds.

I also spent some time with the Education team, taking part in a workshop called Trick of the Light, which involves navigating a laser obstacle course without breaking any of the beams. I thought those things only existed in films and video games, so I couldn’t help but feel a bit like Solid Snake when I attempted it.

But it was the Live Science Team who I’d find a home with. I remember being greeted by the warm, emphatic smile of Sarah, the relentlessly energetic Kerina, the cheerful chortles of Aimae, and the immediate friendship of Roddy. But these weren’t the only four people in my future family.

As an LST volunteer, I’d often mingle with visitors and immerse myself in conversations. I’d give people a hand where I could and just try and add something positive to their day. I’d always get distracted by the exhibits, but this was part of it, and continues to be. I loved that being distracted was encouraged, and that it led to conversations with people.

I developed a lot of confidence volunteering here and learnt important things about facilitation and contributing to a community. Building on skills I’d picked up dabbling in youth work and inclusive music workshops. Things just felt right here. I’d temporarily have to leave my new friends however, owing to employment elsewhere. But as it turned out, the stars hadn’t finished aligning. That job wasn’t meant to be and I began hunting again. And it wouldn’t be long before I’d be back in the haven, basking in the wonders of curiosity. I tried not to get my hopes up when applying for the role of Live Science — although it would be a dream job, I was prepared to dream on. I kept my fingers VERY TIGHTLY crossed though, and now, they call me Lima 14.

I love my job more and more each day, and it’s making me a better person. I’ve never been happier in my life. I’ve been pinching myself to see if I wake up, but my arm’s sore now. As a volunteer, I was doing a lot of the same things I do as a member of Live Science, so when I got the job, it was a fish-to-water scenario. But, with the new role, came new responsibilities: looking after lost children, tidying up and cleaning, presenting shows, attending meetings, first aid calls. When I first put my radio earpiece in and walked out onto the floor with my new call-sign ‘Lima 14’, reality kicked in. I thought to myself “this is for real now Nick — time to spread your wings boy!”

I thought that starting for real would feel more familiar based on coming from volunteering, but reality kicked in and I realised I was entering the big leagues. I really wanted to get this right. There was a bit of pressure but I always knew I had my skills from volunteering to back me up. Volunteering has brought so much to my life, like confidence and the desire to help people and contribute to my community; but most of all, it has given me a new family.

I know that if I come in feeling bad, my new teammates will pick me up and vice versa. Whether it’s Amelia’s precision, Tam’s endearment, Ellie’s compassion, George’s dad jokes, Rose’s honesty, Jade’s kind heart, Paul’s openness, Penny’s infectious laugh, Ruth’s chirpy energy, Raj’s wisdom, Alex’s reassurance, or Tori’s selflessness, I’m in good hands. And so are you!

Welcome to We The Curious friend!

Peace and love,

Nick

All this week, we are celebrating the fabulous volunteers that help make We The Curious who we are. Tune-in to our social media channels to see our latest short films, where we’ll be meeting a new volunteer everyday. Or, take a look here on our Medium channel for more tales from our Volunteers and staff, like this one!

--

--