Intelligent chat based on multiple choice?

Whamsicore
2 min readFeb 8, 2016

--

Messaging is just getting started.

Intelligent chat bots in the future can help us order taxis:

Or select movie tickets:

Notice that in both examples the chat bot was able to provide valuable service to the user. However, during the Uber order I didn’t have to type anything! On the other hand, I had to type:

To get get my ticket. Is there any way we can avoid typing altogether?What if I was given this straight in the chat:

This is the future: Bot conversations are going to be based on multiple choice, because it’s SO much easier.

Instead of having to type anything, the chat service will intelligently guess your intentions and offer you with relevant options.

Bot: “Do you want to watch a movie” — “Yes!” / “No, not at the moment”.

[You click “Yes”]

[You click “The choice”]

Bot: “You chose”

[You click “2 Adults”]

All it took was 3 clicks and you’re done. Zero typing necessary.

While A.I. continues to become more intelligent, it still has a long way to go before it can seamlessly understand human language. Luckily, we don’t have to wait because, clearly, multiple choice conversations are superior.

Let me know what you think!

--

--

Whamsicore

I write Dharmaverse scifi about a frozen Earth ruled by AI metagods