Pass The Trader Joe’s Prosecco

Why there is a complete misunderstanding of success in America

Smiley Poswolsky
2 min readSep 8, 2016

In the process of marketing The Quarter-Life Breakthrough, multiple authors, podcasters, and influencers, have told me that my following and social reach is not large enough for them to promote my book. While it’s frustrating, I get it. While I like to think I’d help out the underdog, I’d probably say the same thing if I was in their shoes. You’re more likely to give your time and resources to do someone a favor when you know the ROI is going to be worth it.

But let me say this: I’m really grateful that I’ve achieved what I’ve achieved, without the aid of fame, fortune, or a large following. When I self-published the first edition of the book in 2014, I only had 500 subscribers, a tiny budget, and no distribution deal, but I still sold thousands of books all over the world.

I’m proud that I made a decision to prioritize the quality of my work over growing my following, and prioritize the meaningful relationships I have with my community over fake transactional relationships with fancy schmancy people. This probably means I won’t make as much money as the other cats out there (the first thing any publisher usually asks you is, “what’s the size of your following?”), and it probably means I won’t make the bestseller lists (which is incredibly hard to do, and even harder to do without fame, fortune, or a large following).

When things get frustrating, I remind myself that I don’t write for email sign-ups, I write because it makes me feel whole. I remind myself that I don’t write for clicks, I write to change lives. I remind myself that the most important thing you can do in this life is keep making your art and sharing your truth, regardless of how many people are paying attention. I remind myself that the totem poll of social influence is not the same as the totem poll of social value.

In a recent interview on the Nerdist Podcast, comedian and filmmaker Mike Birbiglia put it perfectly: “I think there is a complete misunderstanding of what success is in America. Success has become equated with visibility and exposure, and has moved away from what success should be, which is connecting with people, and helping them in some way.”

I know my work connects with people and makes a lasting impact in their lives. I know I’m a success, and I don’t need someone else to tell me so. I wrote a book and the book is dope. Let’s celebrate. Pass the Trader Joe’s prosecco.

THE QUARTER-LIFE BREAKTHROUGH by Adam Smiley Poswolsky, will be in bookstores October 4, 2016. Pre-order today and get free gifts (including a beautiful Breakthrough Goal Map!).

--

--

Smiley Poswolsky

Keynote Speaker. Workplace belonging expert. Author of The Quarter-Life Breakthrough and Friendship in the Age of Loneliness. http://smileyposwolsky.com/