Photo by Clay Banks on Unsplash

Get Out may not be Best Picture, but it’s the movie we’ll remember from 2017

Brandon Anderson
7 min readMar 5, 2018

--

Where were you when you first saw Get Out? What reaction did you have? How long did you talk about everything after the movie that night? How long were you thinking about it afterward?

I’m guessing you have an answer to each of those questions if you’ve seen Get Out. It was a wonderful movie, a shocking film, with underlying tones and overt messages that had audience members’ heads spinning.

Did you have any idea what you were getting into when you decided to watch Get Out? I didn’t. I had some idea what I was walking into for Black Panther, but Get Out looked a little cooky in the previews and I knew very little about it, outside of my friends insisting everyone see it. I had no idea it would be the best movie from 2017 and the one I’d spend a year telling everyone to watch.

(By the way, this goes without saying, but please stop reading and watch Get Out if you somehow haven’t yet. Spoilers ahead.)

I don’t watch many scary movies, nor horror or suspense or whatever else this…

--

--

Brandon Anderson

Sports, NBA, NFL, TV, culture. Words at Action Network. Also SI's Cauldron, Sports Raid, BetMGM, Grandstand Central, Sports Pickle, others @wheatonbrando ✞