16 Months Sober: Chasing After God’s Voice

Whitney White
5 min readSep 27, 2017

So, here I am at just a lil bit over 16 months sober. This whole sober-living thing is nothing like I imagined it to be. I thought once I got out of rehab (where they keep you super busy at all times of the day and night) that life would slow down. Boy, was I wrong! Nothing about life has slowed down. In fact, this path I’m on seems to only be picking up in pace. All throughout the day I find myself having to make one decision after another, and for the most part, these decisions are not automatic; they require much thought on my part. But once I lay my head down on my pillow at night, I have to admit this life is good. I’m not exactly to the point I want to be, but I know I’m so close to getting there that with only a bit more patience, this life I have sought after for the past 31 years is fixing to be mine (and it’s all thanks to God and his grace and mercy). Wanna know how I got to the point I’m at today? Keep reading to find out.

Rewind to May 20, 2016 and before

Stupid choice after stupid choice. Add a few more stupid choices mixed in with drugs and alcohol and you see how my life turned into such a mess. And when I say a mess, I mean felonies, jail, bankruptcy, loss of jobs, and more. Only something as supernatural as God could have pulled me out of the hole I was in.

--

--

Whitney White

I spend my days and lots of nights writing for clients from all across the world. A laptop and Field Notes are two of my best friends. www.whitneycann.com