India

In search of Nirvana and India and all the adventures that happen while on the way.

Whitney Hollis
6 min readNov 14, 2014

Two weeks in and I think I can write a novel on all the cultural differences and nuances I have picked up in this amazing country. India is a different breed. I have traveled and had the chance to experience various different cultures but nothing can prepare you for India. Some things I was prepared for (i.e. no rules driving, heat, animals) but there are things you just must experience for yourself and take in for yourself, especially food poisoning—there is no way to avoid it!

The plane ride from Dubai was my first contact with Indian culture. It was a free for all to get on the plane and constant demands. One may find it rude, but upon further reflection in India I have come to a much different conclusion (will expand later). The entire 3 hours I spent talking to the guy next to me who told me his entire life and was even frank with me on how I should run mine. All I wanted to do was watch my TV shows on my tablet. Once landed, I was greeted by a cab that had no clue or no English on what to do. Navigating the streets was impressive and he added to the symphony of honking horns (you think NYC is bad…come here!). Some how through broken English and constant calls and using expensive data roaming we managed to find the hotel guest house where I will be spending the next 3 months of my work secondment.

I quickly learned that Gurgaon is not in Delhi and that my LonelyPlanet phrase book is hopeless at helping me to learn the language. Needless to say, my colleagues had a great laugh and mentioned to throw it out. This is a big country with a population from all walks of life. Everyone speaks a minimum of three languages and everyone knows where you come from just by looking at you or from your accent. I couldn't even do that in the States…

Because there are so many people I can see why people act the way they do , working horrific hours (compared to Europe) and how one can get the stereotype. There is always a resource or someone else who can do that job and for the most part its the survival of the fittest. If your child is ever being a brat or feeling too entitled—send them to India.

What this means in terms of working here is that its not about the idea, its about how fast you can deliver and do it on your own (not good for a teaming social style like myself). Its taking me some time but I am learning to flex and trying to find the best way to be impactful. Everyone is lovely on the team though, dont get this post wrong at all. I’ve met a lot of people quickly who have been genuine to help me out when I need it. I think that is one thing I didnt expect. In my travels in Africa and other emerging markets, I never felt like I could trust anyone. I may be paying higher than usual, but at the end of the day everyone seems quite genuine to help you get what or where you need without an ‘extra cost’. I am two weeks in and could still be naive….

But so much is changing and its great to see the changes happening so quickly and slowly in some aspects. There a lot of modern amenities and similar ‘western’ habits that have developed but they also stay true to culture. English is used mostly with a mix of Hindi of course every now and again. Traditional wear for women is more appropriate than the typical western business wear. Not that I could not wear a suit, but wearing a saree or Kurti(sp) will be more comfortable and make you much more a local and a part of the team. Cricket did not seem to be as much of a big deal as I thought it was here or at least with my team.

The day starts around 9.45 as it takes forever to get into the office (1-2 hours) but of course will work later to compensate. Lunch is at 13:00 — 14:00 in the canteen. If you do not get in there, you will have to go outside. Everyone eats together and shares their food (without even mentioning/asking). I would love to try that when my colleagues at work in the UK bring in their food or cake…interesting experiment! Most people bring their food from home as they cook or their mothers/wives cook for them (tots jealous). The tea/coffee machine has several chai choices with a steamed milk option! There is a guy who will clean the dishes and get you a bottle of water. There is a bathroom attendant who is there to ensure cleanliness in the toilets. There is security machines and guards that you will encounter at least 2-3 times before you get into the office. The machines go off all the time and sometimes they check. There is a job for everyone and you better let them do their job!

I was lucky when I came as there were some birthdays on the team. Happy Birthday is still used and clapped through the whole song. But what was more interesting was that when the cake is cut, the person who has the birthday cuts the piece and feeds a small piece to the person next to you. For me that is very intimate. What makes me think of this is at a wedding where the bride and groom feed each other as a symbol of their love and supposed concept of taking care of each other. Needless to say I had a bit of anxiety to tell them my birthday was coming up soon.

Everything was different. I wasnt sure how to navigate. For the time being I had no work and was told I must ask for it. Not sure I am asking hard enough. All of it is very interesting. I was told upon arrival I would be working on CSR projects. There is a new regulation that enforces large companies to pay 2% instead of 1% to social development and differentiates being sustainability and social responsibility. I am intrigued to see how this will be followed and what the actual impact would be when completed. As I sit within Development Advisory Services they covered every angle from conception of programs to measurement and evaluation of these projects. It was a side of international development I always wanted to get into. I am excited to see what projects I will get and hopefully get some soon. For the time being I am sitting around a lot, sort of helping on projects where I can, but feel its not cultural to interject or come into middle of projects…no one seems to have the time to onboard someone and am starting to see that development and coaching is missed a lot, but at the end of the day there is always another person who will do it.

Its sort of fascinating…throughout my life I have always had someone being supportive of me, coaching me and guiding me. In India, I did not get that feeling at all. It was try and try and work and work until you get it right. There was a lot of copy and pasting when you could, but compared to what I was used to…this was different. Part of me wishes maybe I had that Indian life experience of learning on my own, but not sure where I would be…would I be better off and smarter than I am today or is the more ‘supportive’ approach better. I certainly know I wouldn't be where I am without the people in my life that have supported me but am I personally better off? Makes one think.

Anyways I suppose we will see. Still so much more to experience. Until the next time….

--

--

Whitney Hollis

Sustainability professional who is passionate about creating shared value and finding entrepreneurial solutions to solving world problems.