A Ferry I Took In London

Finch Smith
5 min readFeb 14, 2024
View of Tower Bridge from the Tower Hill Pier. All photos taken by author.

It’s about 3:30pm, and the deafening metal screech of the subway car jolts me back to reality – the last four hours, I had been in a total work-induced coma, and so my mind was totally frazzled as I lingered at Farringdon Station. Eventually, the train arrives, and a crowd departs it. I step off of the platform, and I am whisked away through the Circle line into the underbelly of the city.

While the thuds and clatters of the train rattled all around me, I anxiously checked my online tickets —luckily, I had the right place, at the right time.

The River Thames splits the city of London in two, and along it’s serpentine length lies some of London’s most notable landmarks. Before I arrived in London, I had desperately wanted to take a boat ride along it, but I wasn’t prepared to pay the rates for sightseeing rides and the like. I had heard of the completely free Woolwich Ferry on some travel websites and YouTube videos, but it didn’t pass by any sights, and it was quite a ways away from where I was staying.

Then, while I was searching, I discovered that Uber (of all people) do boat journeys across the Thames! An £8 ticket could take me from Tower Pier all the way down to Westminster, passing by the Shard, the Fenchurch Building (known as the Walkie-Talkie for it’s distinctive shape), Tate Modern, the RAF Memorial, the London Eye, and plenty else I’m…

--

--

Finch Smith

Writer and entrepreneur interested in self-development - musician, nerd, always improving.