MapD Charting For Interactive Fun

Jesse’s Big Data Adventures
2 min readJul 11, 2017

--

I started consulting for MapD to help their marketing and decided to download MapD Charting from GitHub. It installed easily on Windows 10 64bit and I had a lot of fun with the demos.

The documentation and demos on GitHub are clear and easy to use.

In addition to the code examples with tons of comments, there’s also great API documentation for MapD Charting.

Installation Experience

Surprisingly, I ran into problems installing MapD Charting on Ubuntu 17.04. Without spending too much time tracing the problem, I tried the install on Windows 10 64 bit. In general, the install went smoothly, but I ran into a few minor glitches.

Bash

I was already using git bash on Windows as my console, which was a good thing as I think the installation assumes access to bash.

Windows SDK for Windows 8.1

I had to install Windows SDK 8.1, which was somewhat suprising.

Node 7.x or Below

I was running node 8, but the node-sass version required Node 7.x or below. I used nvm Node Version Manager for Windows to install node 7.10.

Running Examples

Once install completed, the http server came up quickly with npm run start.

Pointing a web browser at the examples directory resulted in a satisfying examples screen.

Download MapD Charting from GitHub

--

--

Jesse’s Big Data Adventures

Exploring the potential of blockchain and big data. Trying out blockchain technologies, big data infrastructure, visualization, and storage technology.