MapD Charting on Mac OS X

Jesse’s Big Data Adventures
3 min readJul 25, 2017

--

Smooth install. No problems at all.

MapD Charting installed easily from GitHub and ran with no problems. I’m starting to suspect that Mac OS X was the platform that the team used for the initial development. It makes sense as MapD Charting is a tool for visualization and many people with strong graphic sense prefer Macs.

I’m running node v6.11 on Mac OS X 10.12.5.

I couldn’t get all the demos to work, which is the same experience I had on Windows and Linux. The majority of the demos work without any modification.

I took a look at Scatterplot with backend Rendering

Moving to different points on the line graph on the bottom results in changes to the scatterplot on the top graph.

Switching to the MultiLayerMap demo, I get this error in the console.

I looked at the code exampleMultiLayerMap.js in Sublime.

It wasn’t immediately obvious how to add chart.cap to the raster layer.

I looked at dc.rasterLayer in the code, but could not find reference to it in the MapD Charting API documentation.

At some point in the future, I’ll look into this and try and figure it out.

Xcode

I installed git from the command line tools and did not install Xcode. Looking at the log, I see that xcode-select is needed.

xcode-select: error: tool ‘xcodebuild’ requires Xcode, but active developer directory ‘/Library/Developer/CommandLineTools’ is a command line tools instance

As most people have Xcode installed, this shouldn’t be a problem. I installed Xcode from the Apple App Store and rebuilt the project.

Conclusion

If you have a Mac, I recommend downloading MapD Charting from GitHub and running through the examples. The install process is smooth and you can immediately start exploring the examples and API documentation.

Download MapD Charting Now

--

--

Jesse’s Big Data Adventures

Exploring the potential of blockchain and big data. Trying out blockchain technologies, big data infrastructure, visualization, and storage technology.