Wonders of a Punching Bag in a Nutshell

William Jhon
2 min readOct 7, 2016

Once you set a foot inside a combat sports gym, especially a boxing gym, a huge plethora of boxing bags can be found — some brand new while some battered and maltreated. The world may stand to cease but the absence of a punching bag in a boxing gym is something I’m willing to bet my money on.

No matter which gym you choose to set a foot inside, you will spot at least one, unless of course you choose to put my words to test on an extremely low budget gym, in that case I might have a run for my money. Having said that, the crux of what I’m trying to say is that a boxing bag is literally the yin to a boxing gyms yang.

They are literally the core to establishing a base for boxing training, and through them you get to develop / work on many boxing related domains, be it the overall impact of your punch, your technique, how you design to deliver your hooks, straight punches, overhands, uppercuts or whatever else it is that you would like to add to your technique to build up your unique style.

I don’t want to make this sound like a continuous sales pitch, or like I carry a bias for a punching bags but man an addition as simple as this one gym gear item can honestly do wonders for you, should you choose to give it an honest chance of course. So my cherished reader, consider this a gift from one sports person to another in the wake of some goodwill if you please.

Contrary to what most people believe, and by this I’m referring to those whose grasp on knowledge as far as punching bags goes is not as strong as an expert or an avid gym goer, these guys, yes you all know who you are would most definitely be glad to know that a punching bag not only counters the upper body but also the lower body of the fighter. To meet your lower body workout requirements you may also induct footwork practice and put your knock out kicks to test.

I hope this information was helpful, tune in next week to follow up on the types of bags, till then keep pounding on that sand bag if you can find one. Cheers!

--

--

William Jhon

I’m a fighter, so when someone says ‘no’ to me, I try to figure out what I need to adjust to hear the yes.