Week 2 at icipe!

Hope Williams
4 min readJul 8, 2024

--

For my second week at icipe, I volunteered at the primary school on campus. With the protests in Nairobi and Kisumu, I could not go to the field and start my research. My supervisor told me to find activities, so I thought teaching at a school would be fun!

On Tuesday, it was my first day at the school. I was interested in teaching English, so the head teacher introduced me to the 5th-grade teacher. At the primary school at Icipe, the grade is one big class, so 100+ students are learning in one classroom. I tried teaching the 5th graders, but because I had no experience and got thrown into teaching the class immediately, it was an awful experience. However, I got help, and the teacher took over so I could watch how he taught the class and learn how to do the same!

Earlier that day, I met several teachers and got to know the teacher who was showing me around. The teacher gave me Kenyan porridge. It’s a thick drink from plants that fills and gives you energy. I also tried boiled white maize. The porridge was okay, but the texture threw me off because of its thickness. There wasn’t a huge flavour, but I later found out that this is supposed to have sugar or even lemon to add flavour and sweetness. I loved the maize, however! It was different from the corn at home, but it was still very yummy! I felt very welcomed by all the staff. I also kicked a soccer ball with some students. Besides the embarrassment of my teaching, I had a very enjoyable Tuesday.

Pari and I watched the students play volleyball, netball, and soccer at Mbita High on Wednesday. When we got to the school that morning, we talked with the principal, and he gave us beans and rice for breakfast. It was an exciting breakfast, and I could not finish it all because I had eaten breakfast prior. The principal also had us try sugar cane! He told us that sugar cane has a lot of health benefits. He cut Pari and me a decent-sized piece and told us to enjoy it. While eating the sugar cane, I had to peel it with my teeth! I found it difficult initially, but I quickly got the hang of it. You are also supposed to chew on the inside until the juice is gone, then spit it out! At first, I thought you were supposed to swallow it. It was a weird feeling going down my throat. I ate almost the whole thing before we had to go. Pari only ate a tiny bit. But that is okay because it is hard to chew.

(Check out the Instagram story labeled Kenya🇰🇪 to see us eating sugar cane!)

At Mbita High, I talked with many of the students! They tried teaching me Kiswahili and their mother tongue. I also learned that day that they had difficulty understanding me because I talked too fast, and my accent got in the way! After that, I felt better about my terrible teaching time. The students most likely had no idea what I was saying, and with my anxiety, it was not a good mix! I forgot to wear sunscreen and bring my hat that day, so once I returned from the field, I got sunburn all over my arms and face!

On Thursday, I volunteered at the school again! I helped pass out deworming pills and hung out with the 6th graders! They asked many questions and were so respectful! I gave one of the kids, Grace, my phone to take a photo of everyone, and she took many pictures! I had a lovely time on Thursday!

On Friday, I stopped by the preschool at icipe, graded some students’ work, and hung out with everyone! All the students are so adorable and so independent! Back home, a preschooler virtually can’t do anything. But here, a lot of preschoolers do everything for themselves! Besides the preschool visit on Friday, not much had gone down.

On Saturday, it was raining, so we couldn’t do much, but we went with Joyce to the market after breakfast so she could pick up a few items! I saw how fish is prepared in Mbita, Kenya, at the market! It was an exciting process, but I was scared scales would fling at my face, so I tried not to look too much. The fish in Mbita comes directly from Lake Victoria! Almost everything comes from the backyard. Fruits and vegetables come fresh from farms and into the homes of others! At icipe, they have their own banana and mango trees! The primary school also has a garden. They have kale, corn, bananas, and other items.

Photo taken of the fishing area!

Sunday, I went to Church, played volleyball, and ran. The weekends are usually very chill, and not much goes on. But that’s okay. I enjoyed the church service. The pastor talked about how tests are in our lives, and we must pass them to move on to the next. It teaches us valuable skills and knowledge.

So far, I have been finding a home in Kenya. Joyce has been an enormous help in my time here. She tells me to command my day every morning so I can have a nice day. I am so thankful for Joyce and even Pari. Without them, I don’t think I could make it at icipe. I would get too lonely without them.

--

--

Hope Williams

Come with me on my Journey to Kenya. I’ll be working as an intern at ICIPE. Find me on social media to see daily updates! Insta: _hope_769