More Cult Fun and Psychedelia with David Hodges and the Church of Ambrosia!

William Wheaton
5 min readMar 30, 2024

--

(David Hodges, he grows some good Mushrooms, but yeah, cult leader.)

The whole thing that about ten years ago I did some work on the accused cult leader Lori Grace under the late PI Jan B. Tucker qualifies me as having some degree of professional experience with the subject of cults and cult investigation, but it is numerous times since, in the course of doing other things that I have run into groups accused of being cults, which is probably equal if not more crucial to my understanding of them. It is true that on a few occasions I used information from that case to get sex, which is what I was doing up at the infamous Lafayette Morehouse compound in Northern California. When the pandemic hit, being vegan, followers of Supreme Master Ching Hai would approach me on Facebook quite a bit in the early days of the lockdown. Also through animal rights activism I became exposed to DxE with which I was involved with briefly about 3 years ago and have a very nasty feud with, about which I have written an entire autobiographical novel centered around. Another more recent example of this kind of accidentally bumping into a cult came when I learned on-line about the existence of a magic mushroom dispensary in Oakland operating in a semi-decriminalized capacity. I was planning to possibly attend their Easter event this weekend, but I’m not going to. Those groups are all very stressful to have to deal with. I do write about my experience and my knowledge of those groups because of anything I write about that is currently what gets the most attention, but in the case of Church of Ambrosia, I’ve watched enough videos of David Hodges doing sermons and interviews that I wouldn’t really need to make a further trip to gather information. I’ve already written on the Church of Ambrosia a fair bit, but the more I’ve thought about it, the more I’m inclined to sound the cult alarm on them, hope it goes viral, and gives people pause before involving themselves with The Church of Ambrosia. Mushrooms are fairly popular in Reno, I’ve run into at least one other person that had been over that way held the same impression that The Church of Ambrosia really kind of just is a cult. I even have no problem with backing groups that are accused of cults that are vegan or even overlap considerably with the vegan movement, because I see the vegan issue as infinitely more important than the problem of gurus and cults among humans. There are other subjects besides cults I would like to be writing about, but not that garner the same degree of attention, so I try to at least interject the issue of vegan politics into it and I’d like to present more than a reductive anti-cult agenda. Hodges is a carnist he gets no such pass. Of any of those groups that I’ve listed above, if I was asked which one I was most concerned about at this point, I’d have to go with Church of Ambrosia. I don’t know how many years of Lori Grace we have left and I see no clear successor at Sunrise Center, Lafayette Morehouse are highly insular and don’t aggressively recruit, DxE leadership are all perpetually mired in legal problems for doing rescue work I honestly sort of admire despite their hatred of my ethno-religious background. I don’t have the kind of deep personal grudge for David Hodges that I have for Paul Darwin Picklesimer and Rocky Chau of DxE or for one of Lori Grace’s associates named David Imiri or a personal assistant he had named Colleen O’Connell now living in small town Missouri because I’ve never meet David Hodges. The Church of Ambrosia is getting mighty large mighty fast, he’s had quite a few people through his doors and they’ve only been open for about five years.

It should be noted that while you do have increasing evidence of mental health benefits from taking very, very small amounts of magic mushrooms, the microdosing phenomenon, Hodges will tip his hat to the microdose phenomenon, but he does mushrooms in dosages twenty five times or more the side, where he claims to encounter entities he sees as gods and assumes to be real on other dimensions. I don’t, for the reason that that’s insane. I’m increasingly of the view that magic mushrooms are like hydroxyzine, where if you are seeing things, you have taken too much, and should decrease the dosage for mental health benefits.

David Hodges is not young or thin. It wouldn’t surprise me too much if someone has heart failure due to undiagnosed high blood pressure using those kind of mushroom dosages. Also, my good college friend Harry Essex died very young homeless who developed schizoaffective disorder in relation to overuse of psychedelics. Hodges is playing with fire over there. The more I’ve been over there and the more I’ve heard YouTube videos of David Hodges speaking, the more I’d be forced to admit that I think you’ll see a Netflix documentary about him in the next few years potentially.

Hodges grows good mushrooms, but I can’t in good conscience promote this thing. The initial red flag with them was showing up at an odd warehouse-like-space in a ghetto neighborhood in Oakland with an armed guard waving you in. It’s predictably only gotten more sketchy and bizarre since. I have a satirical bit that I do making fun of conspiracy theorists and QAnon where I talk about the Penis Gods of Ancient Mu returning from their exile in other dimensions. The fabled lost continent of Mu is also known as Lemuria if you go on the Church of Ambrosia, you’ll find lectures involving and extra-dimensional life that are absolutely not a joke from anything I can see. I’m like Lovecraft in that I’m into using concepts like that in my writing but don’t actually literally believe in them.

The funniest thing I’ve seen Hodges do is an interview asks him something to the effect of how he would respond to accusations that he is merely glorifying his now drug use, and his response was that people who say that should try what he’s doing. Basically, if anyone challenges him as having a substance problem, which I think it’s fairly evident that he does in a very serious way, his repose to them is that they should do 25 grams of psychedelic mushrooms themselves. I can’t stress this enough times, 25 grams is a shitload of mushrooms. 5 grams is considered a larger doses. I think Lori Grace had it so that you could do the psychedelic thing and the tantra sex thing under the same group at one point, so at some point there was even a psychedelic mushroom church run by a WASP that probably had a better deal lined up in the Bay Area even.

Lies are manifold, truth is one. There have always been charlatans and false prophets. Church of NeuroShift tells it exactly like it is. I’m the one whose really holding the cards on this. Take your microdose or smoke some decent indica and play a little video black jack over at Atlantis, take in the sound of the old school jams and 70’s classic rock. Breath in the air and lean back into the ecstasy. It is not David Hodges face you will see as the true speaker of truth, not Hodges.

He does grow some pretty sweet mushrooms though.

--

--

William Wheaton

William Wheaton, cult expert, available now for research, consulting and investigation. Inquires to williamwheaton66@ymail.com.