How To Break Free From Social Media: Embrace the Low Reward Lifestyle

Will Rinehart
3 min readApr 11, 2019

Some time ago, in the strange part of the Interwebs I inhabit, I came across a guy named AB Dada on Facebook. Every so often I cull the ranks of my social media feeds, to keep things interesting and to clear out the underbrush of negativity, but it’s unlikely he will be cut.

Why is that?

His way of dealing with technology should probably be adopted more widely. I’ve been slowly incorporating it into my life with some solid results. He calls it the Low Reward Lifestyle.

Here’s the core idea.

Your brain is wired for dopamine boosts. Every time you look for memes or scroll through a social media feeds, you are a junkie looking for your fix. You’ve got to cut it off at the source. You need to cut off the dopamine rushes.

But Zuck isn’t the only one who has got you hooked to the rush. Hollywood too has got you hooked too. And I know I’m not the only one spending my lunch breaks looking through informationally empty videos on YouTube.

What replaces your dopamine habit?

Family. Self improvement. That side hustle you wanted to start but didn’t. In short, conscious acting.

A Low Reward Lifestyle doesn’t mean you have to give up tech, but rather you should be…

--

--

Will Rinehart

Senior Research Fellow | Center for Growth and Opportunity | @WillRinehart