The 5 Most Essential Hand Tools you Need

Wil Schroter
3 min readJun 9, 2020

--

For as many tools as I own, there’s only a small number that I use on a regular basis, and if I had to, I could probably buy them all for less than $50 total.

DISCLAIMER — I’m going to assume you have a basic toolbox of things like a screwdriver, hammer, and pliers. If not, You can get most of the basics with a simple kit like this from DeWalt for $25. I’m not talking about what I’m carrying with me on the regular.

  1. Measuring Tape. It seems obvious, but a good measuring tape may be the single most important tool I use. A good measuring tape will be at least 25' long and have a really wide tape, which helps keep the tape taught over long runs. I use the Komelon 25ft Measure Tapes.

2. Marking Knife. You need a really thin, sharp tool to mark your cuts. I prefer using an actual marking knife, but realistically you can use any blade, including a utility knife to get the same cut. I use the Pfiel Marking Knife.

For some reason I paid $30 for a blade. I suggest you pay $0.

3. Speed Square. Once you’ve made your measure, and are ready to scribe your mark (with a marking blade!) you’ll need a perfectly straight, perpendicular edge to mark along. This is where a speed square comes in handy. I use a 7" speed square from Dewalt.

DeWalt keeps calling this a square, but I don’t have the heart to tell them it’s a triangle

4. Trigger Clamp. The trigger clamp is the most valuable shop tool you can have. The trigger on it simply forces the two sides of the clamp together with a progressive pulling motion. This is invaluable for holding pieces together while you assemble them. I have a ton in different sizes, like this DeWalt 6" Trigger Clamp.

They say you can NEVER have enough trigger clamps. They are right.

Pro Tip — A trigger clamp is designed to be slid out of the handle and reversed so that it also acts as a spreader.

5. Digital Level. I’m not sure why I don’t see more people using a digital level versus the old school bubble levels. Why guess if that bubble is in the middle when a digital readout will tell you exactly what’s level? I use the 24" Digital Level by Shefio ($63) but there are tons of lower-priced options too.

This ruler even beeps when you hit perfectly level, which is way handier than you’d think

BONUS: Incra T-Track Marking Ruler. This isn’t really “essential”, but I use the hell out of this marking ruler. Unlike the measuring tape, this marks down to 32nds and 64ths of an inch, but it also has these little tiny holes at each increment to make an actual mark. I use my tape to get close, and then when necessary use the Incra T-Rule to get spot on.

I get a weird satisfaction out of measuring things at a 64th of an inch

--

--