Windowstan.Com — The home of Windows OS (ISO files) — Original Disc Images

Windowstan Guy
6 min readJul 2, 2019

--

When I was a school boy, I bought a Pentium II computer. My brother was my partner in this deal. I was crazy about owning a computer.

We had a computer having a monitor, Pentium II processor, 64 Megabytes of RAM and 3GB hard disk. This PC had Microsoft Windows 98 OS, it was 2005.

I loved playing Need for Speed II SE and the Age of Empires game all the time on my computer. These games were pre-installed in computer. After some months, I found the performance much slow.

Somebody told me it happens due to virus and I need to install an anti-virus software. I was very excited that ‘wow’, my computer has got a virus. I considered myself very lucky that virus has honored me and landed in my computer.

I told my brother about this and we took our computer to a computer sale and service shop. He installed an anti-virus software which was probably Trend PC-cillin. But it destroyed the files and system files.

I lost my software setup files and many installed software either stopped working or got corrupted due to anti virus scan. Again, we went to the service shop and he told that the Windows has got corrupted. The solution is re-install the Windows.

I did not know how to install Windows on computer and what equipment were required to perform this mysterious job. Later on, I came to know about Windows CD and how to install Windows using CD. That was very exciting moment for me and I thought myself a geek in my small town.

Evolution of Windows OS

After Windows 98 SE, I came to know about Windows ME, Windows 2000, Windows XP (the legend) and stayed long with XP for years.

I heard about Windows Longhorn which was codename of Windows Vista but tried Vista after Window 7 release. Actually I saw an amazingly impressive OS in my friend’s laptop, I asked her what is the name of theme you are using on Windows XP? She almost laughed and replied that it was not Windows XP, it is Vista.

I was almost died with shame and jealousy (sort of) because I was a student of Computer Science at master level. For the first time in my digital life, I realized that money has the power to defeat the poor knowledge.

I tried Vista but it had so many bugs that I had to try Windows 7; it was wonderful. I had to buy a DVD for Windows Vista and 7 because the setup volume was beyond CDs.

Then I discovered Windows 8 and found myself troubleshooting most of time because Windows 8 was a flop buggy OS. It was the most difficult operating system in Microsoft OS history. Like most of Windows users, finally I decided to downgrade to Windows 7, which was a great relief.

Windows 8.1 released to fix Windows 8 issues, but it was another flop. And then, Windows 10 released to win love and trust of Windows 7 users.

Windows 10 is the most recent Windows OS from Microsoft and its users are increasing every day. After Windows 98, XP and 7, Windows 10 is the successful operating system for desktop computers.

Windows 10 is still available in DVDs, but installing Windows 10 from USB drive is trending for some years.

Download Windows 10 ISO from Windowstan

The age of Windows ISO and USB drives

Once upon a time when CD was the only reliable source to install Windows. CDs ruled from Windows 95 and continued governing the only installation media for Windows 98, ME, 2000 and Windows XP. Then DVDs appeared on the scene to eat CDs up like a whale in the sea.

All modern Windows OS are available in DVDs; including Windows Vista, Windows 7, 8/8.1 and Windows 10. Though DVDs are sufficient and reliable media to install Windows OS, it is becoming obsolete due to some disadvantages which are in favor of USB flash drives.

Now, USB flash drives are used to create Windows bootable installation media instead of DVDs. You only need a disc image of Windows which is available in ISO file format.

All files from a DVD are copied including bootable information into an ISO file. Now you can use a software (like Rufus) to extract ISO file contents to the USB disc drive. This process will take 5–15 minutes and you are ready to install Windows from USB.

How to download Windows ISO?

Windows ISO files are available on Microsoft official website. But most users face trouble when they reach Microsoft Windows official website to download Windows ISO files due to:

1- You can not directly download Windows ISO if you are already browsing on Windows OS.

2- If by some means, you access the ISO, the ISO links will expire after 24 hours.

3- Microsoft will prompt you to enter a valid product key to download Windows ISO, even if you want to try the trial.

These are the top three reasons most of my friends and people on Internet face problems with ISO files. I was also not comfortable with ISO downloading from official servers due to above mentioned barriers by Microsoft.

I tried to find a better way to get Windows ISO files for Windows 10; or sometimes Windows 7 for my working computers. I found some websites who had hosted the genuine Windows ISO files which were the same official files. They had downloaded the files from Windows site and uploaded it to their servers without touching the file.

I liked this approach because they have tried to make the journey much easier by skipping the most painful hurdle on the road. I referred my friends to those sites but most of them complained about slow download speed, ads bombardment, forced waiting to start downloading and even fake downloads.

Once again, I started to find some better method to download Windows ISO disc images with no or at least minimum pain. I found some sites using cloud storage to host files but almost all of them have pirated Windows ISO files, which is not safe at all. Finally, I started Windowstan.com for my friends and everyone.

Downloading ISO from Windowstan is pretty simple.

Step 1: Go to http://windowstan.com and select your favorite Windows edition or Microsoft Office version.

Select your favorite Windows OS or Microsoft Office version

When you select your favorite OS (Windows 10, Windows 7, etc) you will see another page where you can select the Windows edition which suits your needs. This extra step makes sure you download what you actually want.

Choose your favorite Windows Edition
Click on Download button for available versions

Step 2: Download the Windows ISO. You can choose 64-bit or 32-bit version according to your choice and system architecture.

Choose architecture — 32 bit or 64 bit

Step 3: You will be leaded to cloud storage service (Mediafire or Mega) where you can download the Windows ISO file.

We have tried our best to make ISO file download process as easier as possible. You do not need any sign-ups, surveys, fake waits, etc. during downloads.

Enjoy resumable downloads with maximum download speed. It’s easy, reliable and painless.

Thank you for making world a bit easier!

--

--