MY FRIEND

BoozemusingsCommunity
2 min readAug 9, 2017

by Ryan

May I take your hand my friend

For I have fallen.

I have stumbled on the stones

And cannot rise unaided.

My limbs are weak,

My mind is clouded.

I need your grip

If only but to stand.

May I lean on you my friend

For I am tired.

So many nights have I slept

Among the thorns.

No comfort there,

No chance to dream.

I need your strength

If only for awhile.

May I sit with you my friend

For I need to feel you close.

So many days I am alone,

Myself my own companion

Along the road,

Unshod and lost.

I need your time

If only for a moment.

May I speak with you my friend

For I cannot bear my silence.

I need to hear your voice

And say my words aloud.

I have been mute

And sadly deafened.

I need your conversation

If only by your grace.

May I walk with you my friend

For your pace is strong and steady

I need to journey on

And join you at your side

My way is lost

The path unclear

I need your faithful guidance

If only for awhile.

May I laugh with you my friend

For you have made me joyful.

You quenched my longing thirst,

When I alone could not.

You raised me up

And dried my tears.

I need you more than ever

If only for today.

--

--

BoozemusingsCommunity

If You’re Drinking Too much Too often Talk to Us https://www.boozemusings.com and BOOM Community Rethink the Drink on Mighty Networks