How I transformed an unhappy, unsatisfied, and angry customer into a raving fan?

Rey Juaton
3 min readApr 3, 2020

--

Working as a Customer Success Manager since 2014 has taught me a lot of lessons. And everyone needs to learn and practice these if he wanted his business to grow sustainably and become recession-proof.

The current COVID-19 pandemic has brought havoc to many small businesses. Customers canceled their subscriptions and orders and only focus on essential goods to survive.

People let go of the products they love and have used for a long time just to survive.

So as a small business owner, how can you make sure that your customers will still buy even during these tough times?

Over a week ago, we saw this unhappy and angry customer canceled his subscription. So I sent him a friendly email and he replied.

He told me all the negative experiences he had with our company. He even called our company a scam.

I knew these were not true. Maybe he was just using them as excuses for canceling his order. There must be a reason.

He compared us with other giant companies in our niche and I didn’t argue. I accepted the fact and let him understand that we are striving to satisfy our customers. This is the very reason why I contacted him in the first place.

So I empathized and sought to understand his situation. I told him the whole truth.

See my reply below.

And it worked… After a couple of email exchanges, he sent this reply.

And he left this review on Facebook.

He assured us to because he’s there to support us as best as he can.

And the best thing is we got him back! He recreated his monthly subscription and left a review of the product on our website.

Now, how are you dealing with customer complaints?

Most businesses are afraid to talk to angry customers for fear of losing the sale…

But they aren’t afraid of losing the customer forever.

Here’s the truth.

If you’re afraid of talking to your customers’ complaints, requests, and negative comments, who will?

Remember, your competitors would love to!

You need to set up a strong customer support system to help you transform any angry customer into a raving fan.

I believe that the future of our business lies in the hands of our customers. Customers are always right. And the key to getting their loyalty is understanding their needs and working hard to serve them at best.

I believe that when every business has designed a system to create successful customer experiences, then they will not run out of customers. Ever.

My proprietary 3-step customer success system helps businesses deliver customer happiness and close more sales.

If you have an existing customer base and you wanted them to turn into raving fans and close more sales, here’s a foretaste of my system.

Feel download or make a copy of these 5 email templates. Just request access and I’ll send it to you via email.

Cheers!

--

--

Rey Juaton

Husband, father, and teacher turned marketer helping businesses create a system to grow sustainably even if they stop pouring money on ads.