Avatar or Ozempic Face?

Author Simone Fairchild
3 min readFeb 1, 2023

--

Okay, so you want to lose weight … most of us do. But to what lengths would you go?

Well, apparently, the celebrities of Hollywood and around the world will do just about anything to stay sleek and beautiful. And we know that! But there are pitfalls like bad face lifts and bad clothing choices on the Red Carpet. To boot, now there is a new drug that these celebs are taking and I have to admit I’m kind of scared for them. Or anyone taking this to lose extra weight. It’s called Ozempic and is prescribed for Type 2 Diabetes.

The side effects are not all known for sure but one thing that many have noticed is what the media calls ‘Ozempic face.’ The public and their friends are seeing a drawn, gaunt face with even looser skin, along with a much slimmer body and wondering why. Well, in many cases, that is why.

I suppose trendy stuff is the thing to do for some in their fast-paced lifestyles but in this case, Iplead for common sense to the wise. Chelsea Handler said that she didn’t know she was on it (whoops!) because it’s called something else, oh yeah, semaglutide, which is its generic name. Excuse me, Chels, but you better go to a doctor who doesn’t give the latest pills out like candy … Just sayin’. Anyway, I don’t live in the celebrity world and I don’t want to but I honestly am hoping we all will be a little more careful.

There are some side effects to most drugs but pancreatitis and vomiting are two rarer issues if you take this. A person loses their appetite and eats less. I am not sure if there is a “safe” amount of time to utilize this drug but I would think it would not be something someone would take for any length of time. Ozempic is new since last year in regard to weight loss but doctors admit they don’t know as much about it as perhaps they should. It was used earlier for Diabetes Type 2 patients to lower their blood pressure.

And of course, we have heard that Kim K as in Kardashian and her sister Khloe are allegedly using this as well. Hey, girls, the world is your oyster and you are both beautiful so what more do you want? If you are legit a Diabetic Type 2, I am glad that it helps you but this is outta control like a prairie grass fire.

Truth is, we all want to look younger and thinner but this time, I’m choosing health over looks. I care about your faces too but if it is aging you, then what’s the point? I think there are much healthier choices we can make — celebrity or not.

And the men are probably taking it too but I haven’t heard of anyone yet except, and it’s really only me, I’m sure, but Tom Brady, you aren’t, right!? I honestly just want everyone to live happily ever after but you need to curb playing in these crazy trends. Just like our mommas told us not to play in the street, we need to walk on the sidewalk. We should all get out and exercise, breathe fresh air and eat healthy food.

If you really want to shed weight in a healthy way, please go to a dietician and do the work. Your body and yes, your face, will thank you. :-) !!! There is something satisfying about putting in the time to give yourself tender loving care. And there are more ways to skin a cat. I am all in for that.

--

--

Author Simone Fairchild

Children's author since 2005 of Queen Bee series. Lover of dachshunds. Mother of three. Blogger.