Consommé, a Culinary Meditation

Bill Hendra
3 min readJul 6, 2020

con·​som·​mé noun / A clear hot soup made from a rich flavorful stock. The classic French cooking technique involves clarifying the stock through the use of a “raft” made of ground meat, egg whites, herbs and mirepoix.

I have reluctantly taken stock of my stock.

With a rare, self-honest eye, I see my stock has become cloudy, dark, confused and bitter.

It is not the desired, clear, deep, yet gently textured soup of a skilled chef. It is near spoiled.

Through its initial slow cook, it was neglected. Left to pick up the negative flavors of others, and development of its own. It is out of its character.

I will build a raft to escape this.

I will put good use to my ground up feelings. They will be the meat of it.

For structure, I will add:

The emotions of the layered onion

The crisp, clearing, insistent snap of celery

Carrots, for their deep-rooted, sweet heart

Tomato, for the acid to cut through all the bullshit

I will add thyme because, well, it takes time

Sage for wisdom

--

--