Introducing…Kamal

WMP
2 min readDec 17, 2015

Name: Kamal Kamruddin a.k.a K

Start date with WMP: November 2009

First impressions of WMP:

This thing is going to go somewhere.

What does your role involve at WMP:

A delicate blend of perfectionism and realism. As well as writing and producing and adding guitars to things, I am passionate about pushing our creative output forward, trying new approaches, and making sure we interpret project briefs precisely to deliver a product that meets the client’s need perfectly.

Favourite project so far:

The Jaded London Spring/Summer fashion promo, because it involved a great film, an opportunity to help a client out of a tight spot, and a good amount of creative elbow room i.e. I got to make some beats.

What music are you currently listening to:

Jamie Woon’s new album, Making Time. Different to his first one but still so good. I also listen to Fat Freddy’s Drop in every time and season.

If you are not in the WMP studio where would we most likely find you:

On my bike.

What is the best bit about your job?

Collaboration. I am part of an extremely talented team who just keep getting better and better at what they do.

‘…it involved a great film, an opportunity to help a client out of a tight spot, and a good amount of creative elbow room i.e. I got to make some beats.’

What has been your proudest moment at WMP so far?

Walking the red carpet at the BAFTAs when I Am Nasrine, the first feature film we worked on, was nominated for an award. I wore velvet shoes. Watching the film with family and friends at the Hyde Park Picture House in Leeds was also very special.

Who would you love to work with in the future? Client or collaboration..

Sufjan Stevens. It would be impossible not to learn from that guy.

Memorable studio moment…

For some reason I was telling Ben that when I was little I won a Game Boy in a packet of Quavers. His response was, “I’ve waited my whole life to meet someone like you.”

Listen to a few of Kamal’s tracks on his portfolio page — click here(Password: makebeats)

--

--

WMP

A team of composers who provide bespoke music and sound design to moving image creators and production companies.