Sir Julius Vogel: The Politician Who Wrote Speculative Fiction

Author of Anno Domini 2000: or Woman’s Destiny, a 1889 novel in which women dominated government and poverty had vanished

Woelf Dietrich
5 min readSep 29, 2016

--

A couple of months ago, I mentioned that my three stories in These Broken Worlds received a nomination for a Sir Julius Vogel Award. For those who don’t know, The Sir Julius Vogel Awards are held each year at the New Zealand National Science Fiction Convention to celebrate and recognize achievement in New Zealand science fiction, fantasy, horror, and science fiction fandom.

Alas, I never made the shortlist, but being nominated felt awesome. I wrote this at the time in response:

My first-ever nomination for words I wrote. I know it’s just a nomination and that the number of nominations will decide who lands on the final ballot, but as I write this blog, glee pumps through my veins, and it’s a good feeling.

Which brings me to today’s post.

I want to give you some context to the award by talking about the author it is named after. As a speculative fiction writer, I found…

--

--

Woelf Dietrich

Reader, Writer, and non-practicing lawyer. Nominated a couple of times for the Sir Julius Vogel Award for Speculative Fiction. 2017 SJV Award finalist.