A Journey With Kubernetes: Part 2 — Introducing Virtual Machines

The adventure continues….

Mike Wolfe
Nerd For Tech

--

Photo by NASA on Unsplash

In my previous post, we explored the struggles and triumphs that I undertook while creating a Kubernetes cluster using Raspberry Pi’s. Although there were quite a few issues getting it up and running, the end result was pretty exciting and very workable. In this post, we are going to build upon what I learned and instead of using Raspberry Pi’s, I will be using virtual machines on a server. The goal is to get everything up and running on x64 architecture and see if the cluster is still usable after a power loss.

The server I will be working with is a Dell Poweredge R710. It has seventy-two gigabytes of RAM and three terrabytes of storage running in RAID 1. Ubuntu Server 20.04 is running on top of all of this. For the virtual machines, they will be using Ubuntu Server 20.04 as well. I will not go into detail about creating the virtual machines. Just note that like the POC I ran during the semester, we will have one primary node and three worker nodes. In our case here, I am using QEMU/KVM with virt-manager (VMWare and Virtualbox should work just fine as well). It’s also helpful to have SSH installed too.

To start off, it’s important to update the operating system with:

sudo apt update

--

--

Mike Wolfe
Nerd For Tech

Software Developer, Tech Enthusiast, Runner. Current project http://sqlcheater.com/ Connect with me on LinkedIn: www.linkedin.com/in/michael-wolfe-176212125