Fenix

Raymond Rojo
3 min readAug 26, 2015

--

When I was still in highschool, I conjured up a fictional character named Fenix. He was the embodiment of the ideal me. The me that worked hard, was in peak physical health, was incredible at parkour and swordsmanship, lived a life of stress and adventure, and could overcome whatever bullshit obstacle got in his way.

He got the name “Fenix” because I prided myself in my ability to raise up after my failures stronger than ever and somehow pull through in the most outrageous circumstances.

When people reminisce about their past, time and time their stories are arranged follow a specific theme or narrative. For me? I love redemption stories.

Ever since I began graduate school though, I’ve lost touch with Fenix and (in comparison), have been a gluttonous sloth and living a life of comfort I didn’t really feel like I “earned”. Instead of conquering all the challenges that came my way, I barely survived with the skin of my teeth out of sheer luck.

Though it’s about time this changed. So now I will tell my journey of redemption in a fantastical way using my beloved character. Bear with me as there might be the occasional unexplained term.

Our hero, Fenix, was once part of a tightly knit team of elite mercenaries. Clashing ideologies and personal drama had torn the team apart, and each member had gone on their own way to resolve their own demons.

Fenix, wrecked with guilt after the split, faded into the shadows. His once indomitable resolve was replaced with constant self-doubt. He manged to get by, but he withered more and more with each passing day, becoming a hollow shell of his former glory.

Somehow, Fenix learned about his team, and how their individual paths would all converge to the ArkCity of lust and sin, Erebus.

This was a chance for him to see them again. But would they want to see him? Especially considering how much he has fallen? It’s been years.

More self-doubt.

Getting inside of Erebus wouldn’t be easy for him since he lost his status. ArkCities only allow the most prosperous individuals inside, but there are always those that smuggle themselves in.

“Smuggle myself in?” he pondered. He looked at the state of his temporary home. It was falling apart. The funds he had amassed before the split were about to run out. He couldn’t stay any longer.

Fenix packed his things for the journey. Hopefully, it wont be his last. It will be a difficult one, but the thought of reuniting with his former team gave him a purpose. They were his family. The greatest moments of his life were when he was with them.

“See you guys at Erebus” he said to himself.

Epocholis by JonasDeRo

Fenix’s journey to Erebus

[deadline is the end of September, 2015]

Primary quests:
-Finish this damned Thesis
-Apply for work and get hired somewhere

Health/physical goals:
-Run 50 miles by the end of September
-Run 3 miles in less than 23 minutes
-Run at least 6 miles in one go
-Make it through the fist phase of the p90X workout routine
-Sprint 400 meters four times in 1:30 seconds or less (5 mintue rest max)

Spiritual/Artistic goals:
-Express your appreciation of a friendship to at least one friend per day
-Finish two sizable novels
-See two drawings to completion
-Create two new foam swords

Intellectual/Academic goals:
-Watch at least one Ted Talk video a day
-Spend 30–60 minutes a day learning about something unrelated to my studies

Fun tidbit
Fenix’s team and their meaning to him:
Victor (competition)
Desiree (love)
Faith (confidence)
Dominic (friendship)
Will (determination)

--

--