The Day America Dumbed It Down

Heidiann Williams
2 min readNov 10, 2016

As I am still recovering from Election Day so many thoughts circle my brain. I get that many voted for the Donald because they think they are standing up to the elites. Sure that is the rhetoric he delivered, but he is the elite, which only proves out my title that America has dumbed it down.

I tend to agree that we need change in government but even more than that, we need progress and growth. You are not going to get that with Trump, if anything you should expect to see this country go back in time.

Back to a time when we didn’t have the rights we enjoy. Back to a time where someone could legally put a “whites only” sign in the window. Back to a time of war being our currency.

The part of this whole thing that sticks with me and won’t leave my brain is, he isn’t qualified for the job. Think about all of your Interviews and if you weren’t qualified, you didn’t get the job. So how do we put our lives in the hands of someone who can’t do the job?

Moving Forward

Yes we are all moving forward because we have no choice and I have seen how people are going to hope it all turns out okay. How about instead we become proactive in our destiny. This democracy belongs to all of us and we shouldn’t lay back and hope. We should make them do their job, it is the reason we have a Democracy.

Learn more about how Government and Politics work, learn what our rights are, become advocates and instruments for change. Things like a woman’s right to vote didn’t happen because we waited for it, women got out there and made it happen!

This is what I will be doing and I hope you will too.

--

--