Queensferry, Deeside, Flintshire — A Short History of the town.

Phil Woods
7 min readDec 12, 2022

Following on from my potted history articles on Connah’s Quay and Shotton, I wanted to complete the trilogy by writing about Deeside’s other main town, Queensferry.

From someone who got an F in GCSE History, I have found myself oddly enjoying the research and putting together these articles, not only, I hope, entertaining the readers but also teaching myself about the area I have called home since 1994 (with a few deviations along the way). I may well continue this onto Mold, Buckley, Flint and continue to work my way through Flintshire.

This time it’s Queensferry, the smallest of the three towns that share a border that separates Wales and England. Whilst it may be the smallest, it is arguably the most significant as it truly is the Gateway to Wales. I remember it from my childhood as the Blue Bridge town, that was when I knew that we weren’t far from the caravan site in Pantymwyn (nr. Mold) where both my grandparents and parents owned a caravan, and we would disappear for a weekend from our home in Hoylake. I guess that the Blue Bridge and the ‘Gateway to Wales’ hotel that once famously stood on the border are the most famous landmarks in the town (although strictly speaking the hotel was in Garden…

--

--

Phil Woods

I’ve been a writer for many years, mainly writing comedy or F1, sometimes local politics. I have also been a radio presenter. I enjoy writing about family law.