I Refuse to Conform to the “Hustle-Till-You-Drop” Culture as a Writer

Incessant busyness clutters our days and minds. It reduces our enjoyment of life.

Words by Egypt
2 min readJul 12, 2020
Photo by Garrhet Sampson on Unsplash

It’s easy to fall into the comparison trap as bloggers or online writers to do more. To grow our blogs fiercely. Throwing out sleep, exercise, family relationships, and other good things.

After all, we’re trying to make money right?

Wrong!

What is the point of all the hustle, if we don’t have time to enjoy the simple things?

Do you know what is more valuable than money? A clear mind and time.

Incessant busyness clutters our days and minds. It reduces our enjoyment of life.

If we’re ever busy online, on social media, and constantly scaling up, when do we get the time and headspace to relax into our creativity? To take a break? To enjoy a nice stroll? Or go for a cool swim on a hot day?

There is more to life than speed.

In my work, I want a simple, yet impactful online writing experience. Free of the stress, comparison, unscrupulous practices, and hurriedness that online writers often buy into.

I’m not buying all the hurry-up-ness to growing a business or writing presence. I want more freedom and joy in my life.

Sorry I’m out.

I didn’t sign up for the hustle-till-you-drop ethos. As a minimalist and intentional living writer, I want my writing and work to be a reflection of my values.

I don’t have to craft my online presence according to anyone’s master-plan.

It’s my art and passion after all. Not theirs.

As creatives of any sort it’s important we stay true to our values. It’s crucial we’re not swept away by the storms of hustling.

In order to remain intentional. In doing so, whatever we create will be unique and great.

Writer’s Note: Egypt is a writer, poet, minimalist, freedom, and wisdom seeker. She writes on things related to simplicity, creativity, and freedom HERE

--

--

Words by Egypt

Essayist, Poet, and Writer. Dancing at the intersection of words and thoughts. https://ko-fi.com/wordsbyegypt