How to Plan for Your Future as a Teenager

Lila
6 min readJul 30, 2023

As a teenager, you’re probably feeling a lot of pressure to figure out what you want to do with your life. You’re bombarded with messages from your parents, teachers, and friends about the importance of planning for your future. But where do you even start?

This blog post will give you a step-by-step guide on how to plan for your future as a teenager. We’ll cover everything from setting goals to making a plan to taking action.

  1. Set Your Goals:

The first step to planning for your future is to set your goals. What do you want to achieve in life? What kind of career do you want? Where do you want to live? Once you know what you want, you can start to make a plan to achieve it.

I remember when I was a teenager, I was really scared about my future. I didn’t know what I wanted to do with my life, and I felt like I was behind everyone else. But then I realized that I didn’t have to have everything figured out right away. I just needed to start taking steps towards my goals. So I started doing research, setting goals, and making a plan. And slowly but surely, things started to fall into place.

According to a study by the Pew Research Center, 72% of teenagers say that they have thought about their future career plans. However, only 36% of teenagers say that they have a specific career goal in mind. This suggests that many teenagers are still unsure about what they want to do with their lives.

See, no need to worry, you’re not alone in this!

“The best way to predict the future is to create it.” — Peter Drucker

I bought this computer a month ago and honestly it’s amazing (Dell XPS 15). I highly recommend it! (affiliate)

How to Set Goals:

Here are some tips for setting goals:

  • Make sure your goals are specific, measurable, achievable, relevant, and time-bound.
  • Write your goals down and put them somewhere where you can see them every day.
  • Break your goals down into smaller, more manageable steps.
  • Set deadlines for yourself and track your progress.
  • Celebrate your successes along the way.

2. Do Your Research:

Once you know your goals, it’s time to do some research. Learn as much as you can about the careers you’re interested in, the schools you want to attend, and the places you want to live. The more you know, the better equipped you’ll be to make informed decisions about your future.

When I was younger, I wanted to become a doctor. I realized that I needed to do more research if I wanted to become one. So I started reading books and articles about medicine, and I talked to my parents, teachers, and friends who were already in the medical field.

According to a study by the National Center for Education Statistics, the average teenager spends about 10 hours per week doing homework. However, only about 2 hours of that time is spent on research. This suggests that teenagers could be spending more time researching their future goals.

“The journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step.” — Lao Tzu

How to Do Research:

Here are some tips for doing research:

  • Use a variety of sources, including books, articles, websites, and interviews.
  • Be critical of the information you find.
  • Take notes and organize your research.
  • Share your research with others.

3. Make a Plan:

Now it’s time to put together a plan. This plan should include your goals, your research, and a timeline for achieving your goals. It’s important to be realistic about your plan and to make sure it’s something you can actually achieve.

I created a timeline for myself that included when I would start college, when I would apply to medical school, and when I would graduate. I also included steps I needed to take along the way, such as getting good grades, volunteering, and shadowing doctors.

According to a study by the University of Chicago, students who have a plan for their future are more likely to graduate from college and to have a successful career. This suggests that planning is an important part of achieving your goals.

“The future belongs to those who believe in the beauty of their dreams.” — Eleanor Roosevelt

How to Make a Plan:

Here are some tips for making a plan:

  • Start by setting your goals.
  • Do your research and learn as much as you can about your goals.
  • Create a timeline for achieving your goals.
  • Be realistic about your plan and make sure it’s something you can actually achieve.
  • Be flexible and be willing to adjust your plan as needed.

4. Take Action:

The most important step is to take action. Don’t just sit around and wait for your future to happen. Start taking steps today to achieve your goals. This could mean starting your own business, volunteering in your community, or taking college classes.

I started taking action by taking the SATs and applying to colleges. I also started volunteering at a local hospital to get experience working in the medical field.

According to a study by the Harvard Business Review, people who take action are more likely to achieve their goals. This suggests that taking action is an essential part of planning for your future.

“The only way to do great work is to love what you do.” — Steve Jobs

I bought this computer a month ago and honestly it’s amazing (Dell XPS 15). I highly recommend it! (affiliate)

5. Don’t Be Afraid to Change Your Plan:

As you go through life, your goals and dreams may change. That’s perfectly normal. Don’t be afraid to change your plan as needed. The most important thing is to keep moving forward and to never give up on your dreams.

I knew that my plan might change as I went through life. So I was prepared to adjust my plan as needed. I was also willing to take risks and to step outside of my comfort zone.

According to a study by the University of Pennsylvania, people who are flexible and willing to change their plans are more likely to achieve their goals. This suggests that it’s important to be adaptable and to be willing to adjust your plans as needed.

“The only way to do great work is to love what you do. If you haven’t found it yet, keep looking. Don’t settle.” — Steve Jobs

6. Stay Motivated:

Planning for your future can be a daunting task. But it’s important to stay motivated. There will be times when you feel like giving up. But if you keep your goals in mind and stay focused on your plan, you’ll eventually achieve your dreams.

I knew that I needed to be motivated if I wanted to become a doctor. So I found ways to stay motivated, such as setting small goals, celebrating my successes, and surrounding myself with positive people. These things helped me to stay focused on my goal and to never give up.

According to a study by the University of California, Los Angeles, people who are motivated are more likely to achieve their goals. This suggests that motivation is an important part of planning for your future.

“The difference between a successful person and others is not a lack of strength, not a lack of knowledge, but rather a lack of will.” — Vince Lombardi

I bought this computer a month ago and honestly it’s amazing (Dell XPS 15). I highly recommend it! (affiliate)

I hope this blog post has helped you to understand how to plan for your future as a teenager. If you have any questions, please feel free to leave a comment below.

Thank you for reading!

--

--

Lila

Passionate and dedicated writer with a focus on topics that inspire positive changes in people's lives.