The Universal Declaration of Player Rights (Declaration) was launched on 14 December 2017 in Washington, D.C.. It is designed to protect players from ongoing and systemic human rights violations in global sport. The Declaration, the first comprehensive articulation of athletes’ rights, sets a benchmark for international sporting organisations to meet their obligations to protect, respect and guarantee the fundamental rights of players. It is grounded in internationally recognised human rights and the real-life experiences of athletes (click here for an account of the development of the Declaration)

For the full text of and additional resources about the Universal Declaration of Player Rights please visit


The World Players Association is the leading voice of organised players in the governance of world sport. It brings together some 85,000 players across professional sport through more than 100 player associations in over 60 countries.

Major player associations belonging to World Players include:

  • FIFPro, the world football players’ union
  • the Federation of International Cricketers’ Associations (FICA)
  • the International Rugby Players’ Association (IRPA)
  • the European Elite Athletes’ Association (EU Athletes)
  • the National Football League Players Association (NFLPA)
  • the National Hockey League Players Association (NHLPA)
  • the National Basketball Players Association (NBPA)
  • the Women’s National Basketball Players Association (WNBPA)
  • the Japanese Professional Baseball Players Association (JPBPA)
  • the Australian Athletes’ Alliance (AAA).

The World Players Association was formally established on 5 December 2014 as an autonomous sector of UNI Global Union (UNI).