About Me

Worrickjk
5 min readOct 18, 2022

The early years

Part 1 1951–1969

Me in Kindergarten

A short summary of events

I am third of six children and flanked by two sisters which makes me a double middle child.

My mother tried to dress us girls in matching outfits, but I fought against it by driving her crazy complaining. She relented to the extent that I could have a different color than my older and younger sisters.

I started reading the Society Pages of the Boston Sunday Globe at nine years old. I was obsessed with knowing how the wealthy lived. I read their engagement announcements, their wedding announcements, and my favorite, the debutante ball photos in their evening gowns and jewelry.

I imagined myself with my own bedroom (not sharing with my sisters). I would have white French Provincial furniture trimmed in gold and a canopy bed (double sized). A pink Princess phone would reside next to me on a round skirted table matching my canopy bed.

In my spare time I read stories of young women who had careers; models living in NYC, airline stewardesses who traveled the world, fashion designers, and newspaper and magazine journalists. Last but not least, I dreamed of having a New York Times #1 bestseller.

I poured over Vogue magazine to keep up with the latest fashions, while sending off…

--

--

Worrickjk

Reading and writing for fun and catharsis. Often guilty of taking myself and others too seriously.