I got banned from Twitter Analytics and they won’t tell me why

Will Oberndorfer
3 min readApr 22, 2016

--

(SECOND EDIT: Twitter is terrible and unhealthy so I locked my account. I don’t care any more.)

(EDIT: If you are an anime nazi, a gamergater, or a MAGA CHUD, this article is NOT FOR YOU. You probably deserved to get blacklisted from Twitter Analytics. Don’t @ me.)

Back in February, I tried to promote a dumb tweet. I don’t remember which one, but I think it was this one:

I would have been fine if they said no, or followed up at all. Instead, they blacklisted me from Twitter Analytics completely.

I’m cool with not being able to promote tweets. However, I enjoyed being able to see graphs showing impressions on my internet garbage, so I submitted a support ticket. Here was the response:

Hello,

Thanks for your question about the status of your Twitter Ads account. We’ve reviewed your account and confirmed that it is ineligible to participate in the Twitter Ads program at this time based on our Unacceptable business practices policy as well our Inappropriate language policy.

Violating content includes but is not limited to any profanity in your bio or Promoted Tweets and/or excessive use of profanity in your organic content.

You can learn more about this policy at twitter.com/adspolicy

Thanks,
Twitter Ads Support

Sure, fine, whatever. I get it. I won’t promote tweets any more. However, they still won’t let me see graphs. I forgot about it until today, when I tried clicking on the “View your top Tweets” link that is still on my profile. This is what greeted me:

A little extreme imo. I opened another support ticket and received a very quick and terse response.

Thanks for your question about the status of your Twitter Ads account. We’ve reviewed your account and confirmed that it is ineligible to participate in the Twitter Ads program at this time based on our Unacceptable business practices policy.

I replied to the email and asked for clarification and received the following:

Your account is ineligible to participate in the Twitter Ads program at this time based on our Unacceptable business practices policy. We are unable to be more specific at this time and cannot respond to any further inquiries regarding your account’s ineligibility.

Figuring this was an automated response, I submitted one last ticket expressing my desire to have analytics access and assuring them I had no interest in promoting tweets. Here is the response:

As stated before, your account is ineligible to participate in the Twitter Ads program at this time based on our Unacceptable Business Practices policy. We are unable to be more specific at this time and cannot respond to any further inquiries regarding your account’s ineligibility.

Did you just tell me to go fuck myself?

The surprising thing to me is that they were able to respond very quickly to let me know I was ineligible, yet were unable to tell me why. They could have simply not let me promote a tweet and provided a reason instead of removing a feature that basically every other user has access to, including egg accounts. I think I understand, though. As a user of twitter and not a #brand, I’m the asshole here. Thank you, Twitter Support, for driving this point home.

--

--