Google Home and Home Automation

Wazi Rafid
3 min readApr 30, 2017

--

Google Home is another personal assistant created by the company in 2016, and so far is the biggest competitor to Amazon’s Alexa, until Apple’s rumored competitor that is expected to launch in June. The benefits of Google Home, is that it has all of Google to its advantage and to research in order to provide near to accurate answers. One of the many things Google Home is used for and that I personally use it for is home automation system. Me, being a huge Apple fan boy, I’m waiting for apples device to replace my Google Home. Android, is nice but I am too far into iOS to pull out, but I always use an Android as my secondary phone. In this post I am going to state, what automation systems I am using and how Google Home makes it a perfect companion. One of my favorite devices, it the Philips hue system, the color changing light bulbs. In my opinion, it is one of the best colored lighting systems for an office or a home. I also use a strip behind my desk, to show a nice backlight effect while I’m working. Paired with Google home, I can change the lights to any color with a single phrase, along with turning the lights on and off. Due to technology, smart homes are now a big thing, and so many technologies have released for houses to make them more secure and easier to use. Another utilization is setting timers for the lights to turn them off or on when you come into the house or leave. I have also aligned Google Home with my Smart TV’s in my basement and room in order to turn them on, and launch certain programs in the house. This is so much easier than searching for the remote when you cant find it, or those lazy days when your tired from school an work.

Another smart home technology, I have aligned with Google are my Nest Thermostats. It allows me to set timers for my houses temperature with only my voice, in any part of the house, so I don’t have to pull out my phone when I don’t need to, or walking to the part of the house where the nest thermostat is installed. Google home, is much easier to use, as it tells me traffic time based on Google Maps, along with the train schedule. This allows me to time when I need to leave my house and how much time I have to get ready. It is an interesting piece of technology and for the price of $129 I recommend it for anyone. One con, is that is has made me lazy, and I rely on it way to much instead of moving around the house.

--

--