Journey to Tranquility: Exploring the Spiritual Heaven of Rishikesh

Writam Mallik
4 min readMay 20, 2023

--

Welcome to the serene and spiritual town of Rishikesh, nestled in the foothills of the majestic Himalayas, where the sacred Ganges River flows gracefully and the air carries an aura of enlightenment and spiritual heritage.

Sometimes, the best adventures are the ones that are unplanned and spontaneous. And that’s exactly what happened when I made a sudden plan to visit Rishikesh. With a rush of excitement and a sense of wanderlust, I embarked on a journey that kicked off from Kashmiri Gate ISBT Bus stand, Delhi. Leaving behind the bustling streets of Delhi, the journey passes through colorful bazaars, lush green fields of Uttar Pradesh, and finally snakes along the banks of the sacred Ganges River.

A vibrant energy was felt all around me as soon as I stepped into the town. As I walk through the streets of Rishikesh I found a diverse mix of people. Rishikesh attracts people from all walks of life, from spiritual seekers and yogis to adventure enthusiasts and curious travelers, backpackers like me to tourist families. Moving towards the city I first encountered the iconic Jhulas, Ram Jhula and Laxman Jhula, famous suspension bridges that span across the holy river Ganges.

Night View of Laxman Jhula

Laxman Jhula is believed to be the site where Laxman crossed the Ganges using a jute rope, which later transformed into the bridge. But to my misfortune, it was closed due to some restoration work So I crossed the mighty Ganges through Ram Jhula and figured out It was already 10 pm and I need to find a place to stay asap. There is no scarcity of hotels, ashrams, or hostels from varying price ranges among which I found a hostel near Tapovan. If you travel solo or even with a group of friends I will always suggest staying at a hostel as you will meet like-minded people, make friends and share your itineraries.

View From Hostel Bed

The next day I eagerly set off to explore the famous white sand beach. As I approached the beach, the sound of the gently flowing river and the sight of pristine white sand welcomed me, creating a sense of calm and serenity. The lush green hills, the rhythmic flow of the river, and the distant sound of chants from nearby temples created a harmonious symphony for the senses. I closed my eyes, allowing the gentle breeze to caress my face, and listened to the sounds of nature, finding a moment of pure bliss. Being 5 AM in the morning there was none around, time seemed to stand still as I lost myself in the introspections — What’s the purpose we want to serve? Isn’t our destiny inevitable like the ocean for the river? Does the meaning of life lie only in the constant state of flux?

Constant Flow of the Ganges

As the sun sets in I approached the ghats which is a true amalgamation of bustling activities, sacred rituals, chanting mantras, trade of almost everything — real India. I sat on the staircase for hours and was thinking Ghats are like our lives — different activities in different staircases i.e. phases of life but in the end immersed in the holy truth.

Paramrth Niketan Ghat

After having a wholesome breakfast in the famous Chotiwala Restaurant I took a brisk walk through the market areas and famous Ashrams like Paramrtha Niketan, Gita Bhawan, Swarg Ashram. Paramarth Niketan was filled with foreign tourists thanks to the International Yoga Festival but I didn’t feel like spending much time staying there owing to too much crowd and sounds.

By now I had to leave Rishikesh as I have more miles to explore in the enchanting state of Uttarakhand but Rishikesh has left an indelible mark on my soul. Though I haven’t visited the so-called famous spots of the holy town I have visited more than that on the streets, the spiritual heaven. I will come back to Rishikesh. I would once again walk the sacred streets, breathe in the pure air, and allow the magic of this holy city to weave its spell on me.

Till then Bon voyage ………

--

--

Writam Mallik

A passionate traveler and storyteller on a mission to explore the world , one destination at a time. Connect with me on https://www.instagram.com/writammallik/