COVID-19, fear of negligence itself

Tanya Sharma
2 min readMar 23, 2020

--

I am not the guy who is coughing his soul out, burning up as if drowning in a cauldron, worst could hardly gush in the one thing he needs to survive, through his trachea, nor am i that man who is on a fifteen day quarantine just because he went off to visit his daughter to attend her convocation ceremony. I am not that mother who couldn’t stop warm tears rolling down her cheek as her 2 year old takes his last breath. No person on this planet could imagine how her entire world has shattered in that very moment. Also, I am not that girl who is having insomnia because her 72 years old grandmother has come under the vicious grasp of the so called COVID-19 and she can’t do anything about it. The 9 years old girl saw it on the TV that this monster hits the debilitated and old people with greatest of the strengths but she is helpless and there is nothing she can do but pray. I am none of these people, then why should I be bothered?

No, I am not a heartless person, I do feel bad but there’s nothing I can do, so I get up from bed and go back to my usual life. I am aware of the lock down but everybody’s gonna be home what harm a few people would bring so as usual i get ready and head out of home for a morning walk with my friends, I have plenty. Many people are introvert, staying at home is a dream come true to them. on the contrary I hate solitude and I cannot swallow the idea. Tommorow is my friends birthday and I have been thinking of throwing a surprise party to her since forever. Since restaurants and pubs are shut down so I was thinking of crashing at one of my friends place and invite bunch of others. Now don’t take me for a person who is not concerned for his health. I know of the situation and I do wear mask all the time, who cares if there is a worldwide shortage.

I wake up with sore throat and fever, its been 2 weeks since the party. Turns out one of my friends father went to Germany and was infected, so was my friend,so are my other friends, so am I and so is my family.

Now I am all those persons I was not bothered about 2 weeks before. When I think of it, I realize I could have stopped everything that is happening to me, my family and friends. I have been a very negligent person you don’t wanna be like me.

--

--

Tanya Sharma
0 Followers

I am a medico……and very interested in all the stuff related to medicine. i am from India