4 Podcasts you can enjoy during pandemic!!

Charu Agrawal
4 min readMay 1, 2020

--

Quarantining has led me to try avalanche of activities starting from cooking to sketching, nail painting to making different hair styles and what not! 2 weeks back I thought of doing something I have hardly ever tried. One way to find that is to surf various applications on play store and then I came across this app — Google podcast. There are other major podcast too like Apple , Spotify, Jiosaavan, etc. Podcast is still new to me to be frank. I haven’t been using it as much. I came across the fact that podcast listeners has grown 60% in 2018. I downloaded it and saw that there is a whole ocean of content to listen to. There are so many people who want their voice to be heard and all of it for the betterment of the world. There are podcasts related to music, travel, economics, politics, sports, health, society, entertainment, current affairs and the list goes on.

I didn’t know how to start or from where to start so I randomly listened to few podcasts. Though the app suggested some top ones, I tried a bunch. I also googled some of them to know briefly about it. I started connecting with few of the podcast and listened to them frequently. The topics they discussed on where so simple and already known to everyone yet I could learn a lot from it. I think the reason was because of their unique way to present it to listeners.

The list goes as follows:

  1. Culture chaos

This podcast explains the state of mind of a Mumbai girl Isha who moved abroad few years ago. She has been travelling since then and while she does that, her mind tries to make sense out of all the chaos she feels through various cultures. Honestly, I haven’t travelled so much or lived independently but I love to hear stories of people who have and the feeling is amazing.

2. Desi outsiders

This podcast is my favorite. 2 Indian girls Ankita and Meenal host this programme where they identify topics, research about it and then discuss on it for the public at large. They have also interviewed many people to give their own valuable insights.

So in one of their episode, they spoke about how inter-caste marriages are not allowed in India. One beautiful thing they highlighted was that the Indian parents do have right to question the choices of their kids about a life partner, but only on things which are under control of that person. For example, if I am born in a Marwari family and I want to marry a Gujarati guy, my parents can’t reject him saying he is not Marwari. Because being born in a Gujarati family was not under his control. They could question his education, way of living, etc. but can’t question on his looks because that’s uncontrollable. This actually blown my mind, because I had never thought of it that way.

3. Amateur Traveler

As the name suggest , Chris Christensen hosts one of the famous travel podcasts with enticing stories unravelled across various cities. Explained in their bio, they cover everything from what to use when you go to a windy city like Chicago to how to swim with whales in Tonga. I heard some of the episodes talking about Indian cities like Chennai, Rajasthan, Hyderabad, Kerala and they have mentioned places I haven’t visited even though I have been to some of these cities. It not only talks about the places to visit, but the food joints, things to do and much more. Though the accent might be a bit tricky, the content is really good. In one of the episodes, they have compared dosa to pancakes. Hahah! If you are crazy about travelling but can’t travel due to lockdown, with the help of this amazing podcast, you can gather as much tips as you can for your favorite places. You could also listen for the places you have already visited just to check whether you have missed anything so that you cover it next time!

4. Maed in India

Indie music lovers, this podcast is for you. It interviews various bands / music composers. Various forms of music such as hiphop, folk, rock, etc. are explained by the Indian and foreign artists. We all have heard of Prateek Kuhad, When chai Met toast, Indian Ocean, Taba Chake but it has over 200 episodes and I am sure you will dive into the ocean of happiness when you encounter all these amazing artists talking passionately about their work

You have some amazing podcasts in mind?, do share it in comments. Till then, happy quarantining :)

--

--

Charu Agrawal

Writer who likes to write on Finance, Relationships & Travel