Shelburne Farms

Tim Snyder
1 min readOct 27, 2015

--

Just outside of Burlington, Vermont lies Shelburne Farms, a 1,400 acre farm with over ten miles of trails that loop though the pastures and along the banks of Lake Champlain. It’s a working farm with random pens gathered around the centerpiece Farm Barn where preparations for an afternoon wedding were underway. Along the trail, we found a random sheep pen whose residents were enjoying the view until they thought I was bringing them lunch. I also learned their fence was electric and the littlest one was stamping his foot in a failed attempt to intimidate me. The path looped along the coast and back into a forest with the most elaborate maple sugar operation I’ve seen. Hoses of varying gauges ran like power lines in every direction, connecting each tree to a veritable maple matrix that I can only imagine ran straight to the local IHOP — I guess we’ve come a long way since the days of a tap and bucket.

[gallery link=”none” type=”slideshow” size=”large” ids=”300,299,297,298,296,295,294,306"]

--

--

Tim Snyder

Freelance writer. Bylines: Boston Globe, Cognoscenti, The Huffington Post.