#365DaysOfWriting – Day 104

I worked at Starbucks for the first time.

Kung Fu Panda
1 min readAug 20, 2016

No no, I wasn’t waiting on tables or doing the billing. My colleagues and I met at Starbucks to do some office work.

I know it sounds silly, but it felt surreal.

There was a lot of noise and chaos around us, but we actually managed to get a good chunk of work done (hooray for free wifi).

I don’t like the coffee there – I think it’s overrated. But I had a salmon croissant which was good, and a Java dark chocolate muffin, which was a bit dry for my liking.

Do people come there for the free wifi?

Almost everyone around us had laptops/tablets. Everyone was working on something or the other. This made me think of a future (a distant future) where offices become obsolete and people either work from home or these coffee shops.

And that’s the question I leave you with – will it be an office-less future? Or will we have even more commercial edifices? It’s food for thought, for sure…

--

--

Kung Fu Panda

Writer. Can consume abnormally large quantities of food. An 18-year-old trapped in an ageing body. AKA Dragon Warrior. In quest of achieving inner peace.