#365DaysOfWriting – Day 107

“It is so simple to be happy, but so difficult to be simple.”

Kung Fu Panda
Applaudience
2 min readAug 23, 2016

--

This life truth is from one of my favourite Bollywood movies – बावर्ची (Bawarchi). The titular role was played by Rajesh Khanna – a departure from his earlier tragic/lover boy roles.

I’ve always felt that the Hindi version sounded better.

ख़ुश रहना एक सीधी-सादी बात हैं, मगर सीधा-सादा रहना, बहुत मुश्किल। Now not all of you will agree that staying happy today is an easy task. But who are we to blame apart from ourselves? It’s human nature to desire (material) things that are out of reach, work our asses off our whole lives to achieve it, and in the process be unhappy while doing so. It’s a vicious circle (and I feel like a hypocrite writing this, because it is EXACTLY what I’m doing) and the only way to break out of it is to be truly satisfied with oneself, and the world around us.

No, I don’t want this to be an Art of Living lecture.

I’m not an enlighten soul (far from it) and I have no business telling people how to live their lives. This is an innocent observation I’ve made, and I’m just putting it out there.

With that, I wrap up tonight’s post. I’d like to leave you with a new acquisition of mine before I sign out.

An interesting coincidence – I was listening to songs from घर (Ghar) today on my way back home.

--

--

Kung Fu Panda
Applaudience

Writer. Can consume abnormally large quantities of food. An 18-year-old trapped in an ageing body. AKA Dragon Warrior. In quest of achieving inner peace.